How Do I Export an iMovie file to H.264?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Apple!Freak, Jul 27, 2005.

  1. Apple!Freak macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #1
    For some reason I cannot find the export option in iMovie? I am looking to export my file to an H.264 Quicktime file. Any help is much appreciated.
     
  2. Sharewaredemon macrumors 68000

    Sharewaredemon

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Breton Island
    #2
    Do you have quicktime pro?

    I'm fairly certain you can't export to h.264 until you get qtime Pro.
     
  3. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    From the File menu in iMovie choose "Share." When the share list comes up choose Expert settings and hit Share. In the Save dialog box choose "Export Movie to MPEG-4" and then hit the Options button right next to the list. Go to the Video Format list and choose H.264. When you hit Ok and choose your location it will save a Quicktime movie in H.264 format.
     
  4. Apple!Freak thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #4
    Hmmm... I went to do just as you said and when I came to the Video Format list, H.264 was shadowed (as though, I cannot choose that option). Any ideas? I do have Quicktime Pro, so that wouldn't be the issue.
     
  5. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #5
    did you try "Export movie to Quicktime Movie"?
     
  6. Apple!Freak thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    Yes......
     
  7. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #7
    I'm mostly positive you need QT Pro.

    Go: share>quicktime>expert settings>convert to qt movie>settings.

    It should be at H.264 by default. If you can't get that far, you need pro.
     
  8. xsedrinam macrumors 601

    xsedrinam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #8
    In QT under Preferences/Registration, does the Pro number appear in your window?
    X
     
  9. zulgand04 macrumors regular

    zulgand04

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Northborough, MA
    #9

    i've saved iMovies in H.264, definatly don't have quick time pro.

    -Neal
     
  10. Apple!Freak thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #10
    Yes! I have QTPro guys, I'm damn sure of it.
     
  11. unixkid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    #11
    at the top of the last window u r at click on format and click MP4 not MP4(ISMA)
     
  12. Apple!Freak thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Apple!Freak

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    East Coast
    #12
    Unixkid wins a cookie! :p

    That was it, I was on MP4(ISMA) not just MP4. What is (ISMA) anyway? Thanks Unixkid, you solved the problem! :)
     

Share This Page