How do I find out what an error is?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by scarlets knees, May 9, 2005.

1. scarlets knees macrumors member

I'm new to macs and to wireless connections so need some help. I am trying to set up wireless connection to a NETGEAR dg8342t adsl router, I can connect via an ehternet cable but if I try to connect wirelssly by slecting NETGEAR from the options on the wireless icon on the desktop I get the message "there was an error joining the airport network "NETGEAR" how do i find out what the error is so i can fix it or does anyone have an idea what the issue may be.

using a new pb, anything else you need to know?

2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

I don't know a good way to find out why specifically the connection was refused, in terms of an error msg, but I might be able to help you fix it. What kind of wireless security are you using? Have you tried the router in open/unsecured mode?

3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

I'd also check the MAC Address security settings. If there's anything set up there, make sure your own ID is in the allowed list. You can find it by opening the Internet Connect application, clicking AirPort, and noting the AirPort ID listed there.

4. scarlets knees thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for the replies sorry for the delay in getting back, to answer your questions...not got the hang of quotes yet either.....

mkrishnan - I'm not using any security at the moment that i'm aware of on the router, it says none selected, is there an in built firewall in OSX that I need to disable?

wrldwzrd89 - my pb wasn't in the 'allowed' list, though the router is set to accept any wireless station, just in case I did add in the MAC address the ethernet connection is using as it suggested on another thread here. I assume the MAC address is the same regardless of theconnection type? I'm not at home so can't check.