How do I force refresh on Safari

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Cloudgazer, May 25, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    480
    Location:
    RSA
    #1
    I'm new to Mac, and this may seem like a stupid question.

    How do i do a 'proper' refrsh on Safari. (Like pressing CTRL and F5) on a PC?
    The refresh button or Apple + R often doesn't actually refresh the page.
    Niether does Internet Explorer.

    am I missing something?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    New Oxford, PA
    #2
    command+R

    Aslo, you only need to press F5 on a PC, you don't need to press CTRL


    What do you mean Comand(apple)+R does not really refresh?
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,341
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #3
    I think by "forced refresh" he means reloading all content from the server instead of cached data. On a PC, this is accomplished by pressing shift or control while refreshing the page.

    To my knowledge, there is no way to do this in Safari. You may just have to clear your cache and reload the page. Possibly closing Safari completely and restarting will also do this for you.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    480
    Location:
    RSA
    #4
    Really? No way? Except to empty the cache?
    That seems like a complete waste of time. I thought macs were supposed to be simple and user friendly.
    I just took a look at the cache. (I'm assuming its in the library > caches > safari).

    The question now is how do you make heads or tails of the contents?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    thequicksilver

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Birmingham
    #5
    There is a way.

    Simply hold shift and press the refresh button.
     

Share This Page