How do I format and reinstall OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by elhammond, Aug 10, 2006.

1. elhammond macrumors newbie

elhammond

Hey guys, I am fairly new to MAC and I was wondering if there was a step-by-step how-to format a MAC and reinstall the OS? Please help :)

2. Manzana macrumors 6502a

Manzana

sure, i'll write one

1. insert os x disc
    2. shut down mac
    3. restart mac, holding c key down
    4. use disk utilities, and format disk to your liking, if you like writing 0's 35 times then do it!
    5. get something to drink, maybe a little bite to eat
    6. install os x to the disk you just formated (and maybe partitioned if you wanted to)
    7. you're done!

3. Mac Rules macrumors 6502

Mac Rules

As written above!

PS its Mac not MAC, thats sounds like an acronym, when its an abbreiviation... Not really a prob, but it kinda looks wrong...:p

Have fun reinstalling!

Cheers

4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

FYI, if you plan to overwrite 35x (which is complete overkill in my opinion unless you're trying to get rid of nuclear launch codes), grab a whole fridge full of stuff to eat and a bed because the process will take several days.

5. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly

The first thing you need to know as a new Mac owner (other than, it isn't spelled all caps ;)) is that you should never have to reformat and reinstall OSX, unless something really terrible happens, like the hard drive fails.

Welcome to the Mac, and be prepared to leave some of those Windows survival tools behind!

6. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

elhammond

7. tsiong macrumors newbie

I will be getting a used MBP. Is it really true that I don't need to format it? But I want to start fresh though...

8. forcefieldkid macrumors 6502

Yes it is true that you will rarely, if ever, need to format it. If you want a fresh start though, go for it.

9. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution