How do i get a new macbook pro 3 times sent in

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by herbcheck, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. herbcheck macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #1
    OK 3 times and 3 differnet product speal. They all say there is a noise. I told them my friend has a 2.0 and no noise what so ever. my serial number is W86087. Im sick of sending my computer ...any suggestsion the noise and heat is killing me! Also im not going to run a widget or disable a core.
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    Well since you posted that specific portion of your serial number I assume you have seen the reports of Apple addressing the issue with replacing certain serial numbers for customers that complain...

    Are you asking us to tell you to to return it? If you want another one and it is still defective, ask for it. :rolleyes:
     
  3. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #3
    I think you already have the option of returning it. But if you don't, call them up and politely tell them what's happened. If it's the same issue, and you sent it in at least 3 times, you're eligible for a replacement or refund under the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Law.
     
  4. marchcapital macrumors regular

    marchcapital

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    ive got a solution!!! buy a think pad and install os x 10.4.5. Stop buying the crappy hardware apple makes. the only thing apple has the knowledge to do is write an os.

    EDIT* i bought an i book that had a few problems...im not one to put up with any bs what so ever...i harrassed apple customer relations till the replaced my ibook...now im selling the replacment and buying a 12" thinkpad
     
  5. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #5
    I would try to get an exchange. I can't believe the sound problem has made its way from the chirping in the PM G5 to the MBP. I no longer use Apple hardware due to poor build quality. It is a shame as well because I love the operating system. Best of luck getting one that works.
     
  6. marchcapital macrumors regular

    marchcapital

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    did u install os x on your pcs?
     
  7. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #7
    No, I use Windows XP 64bit edition. It serves me well and I have not had any issues with it at all. I have most of my software licenses back to windows now so I will probably stick with that for awhile.
     
  8. marchcapital macrumors regular

    marchcapital

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    ok...thanks for the quick response...ignore the pm i sent you.
     
  9. herbcheck thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
  10. The Senator macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
  11. cloudblood84 macrumors regular

    cloudblood84

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    san diego, ca
    #11
    how can u use os x on a thinkpad??:confused:
     
  12. nylon macrumors 6502a

    nylon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #12
    You must be joking..... or seriously misinformed!!!
     
  13. The Senator macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #13
    call me crazy, but a dual CORE, not dual PROCESSOR is only 25% faster then a regular one. I turned off a core and I dont feel a difference, its just as powerful, I work with a lot of graphics and video. Also it dosent make that whine and it dosent get as hot
     
  14. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #14
    Erm, actually a dual core chip should be faster due to reduced inter processor latencies no?

    Also what might be happening in your case is your apps might not be that multithreaded :rolleyes:
     
  15. The Senator macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #15
    I said dual cores are faster, I just dont notice a difference, and true most of my apps probaly arent written for dual cores yet
     

Share This Page