How Do I Get A Screen Capture On Windows?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SamIchi, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #1
    I don't know which button it is, it's usually the print screen button right?... Can someone help?
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    press print screen then go into paint or some other image program and press ctrl + v and you have a screen capture.
     
  3. SamIchi thread starter macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #3
    I don't have a print screen key on my MacBook. That's what I was asking, is it one of the function keys?
     
  4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    If you are using parallels then you should be able to make parallels an inactive window and have it running os x and use the cmd + shift + 3 to do a screenshot. But it sounds like you're using bootcamp so then I don't know, an external keyboard would work if you have one.
     
  5. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #5
    There are numerous free screen capture utilities for windows that work with the click of a mouse (no print screen button required). A search of version tracker (the windows section) should help. There's one i've used a bit, but I don't remember the name.
     
  6. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
  7. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    This utility adds a right click and Print SCreen and numerous other missing buttons.

    http://www.olofsson.info/index.html?inputremapper.html

     
  8. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #8
    I agree with iBookG4User that Use Parallels product cmd + shift + 3 or run the Grab app to capture your screen.

    For boot camp, what about a USB Windows keyboard to give you that PrtSc key.
     
  9. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Download something like Snag-It. Works a treat.
     
  10. MARIKAVSx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    Screen Capture On Windows

    No new downloads or remappings needed. Use the On-Screen Keyboard (All Programs->Accessories->Accessibility:) Hold down the shift key on the "regular" keyboard and press the Print Screen (psc) on the On-Screen Keybord. Works for me.
    MvS
     
  11. mmjd23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #11
    This Is The Right Way:

    Cmd (apple) + Shift +3 :
    Print All Your Screen To A File Which Will Be Saved On Your Desktop

    Cmd(apple) + Shift + 4 :
    You Can Drag A Window To Save It To A Jpg File On Your Desktop
    Or Press Space To Select A Working Window To Be Printscreened

    Hope This Help
    Have Fun !!
     
  12. ripfrankwhite macrumors regular

    ripfrankwhite

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    #12
    Old thread, but here's a great solution.

    Start Button > Run > osk.

    Use the On Screen Keyboard.
     
  13. metropolitim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #13
    Although there are some paid versions that add features, the free version of Screenhunter for Windows works great, with all the features you'd expect, plus some extras. My favorite is that you can decide whether or not to include the mouse pointer.

    The best of all, on either platform, is Vista's built-in Snipping Tool. I could go on at length, but the best description is in this article at Lifehacker.

    It really is amazing.
     
  14. trancepriest macrumors 6502

    trancepriest

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    South Florida
    #14
    If you are using 2 displays... how does one get print screen or Snipping Tool to just capture one display instead of both?
     
  15. CLuv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA, USA
    #15
    Print Screen Button in Boot Camp is fn + Shift + F11 using a Mac Keyboard
     
  16. trancepriest macrumors 6502

    trancepriest

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    South Florida
    #16
    Yeah I figured that... I want it to capture only one display and not both. How can this be done using either the snipping tool or print screen? Is there a way to select only the display that you want to capture?
     

Share This Page