How do I get rid of bloatware on my iPhone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by therationalist, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    therationalist

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #1
    Namely apple maps.

    Thanks in advance for your help
     
  2. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    You can't unless you jailbreak the phone
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    therationalist

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #3
    I have jail broken it. Can I get rid of the app altogether? And replace everything with google maps?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Feed Me

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Location Location
    #4
    You can hide the icon for it and you can set the default maps app to Google maps, but you can't uninstall Apple Maps.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #5
    And since the maps aren't on your phone, the app most likely doesn't take up much space at all.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    quietstormSD

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    How is that bloatware? Apple maps rocks!
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Kissaragi

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #7
    They are hardly bloatware....
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    #8
    That's up to the individual. People should have the freedom to decide what takes up space on their phone.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Coral Springs, FL
    #9
    Then make your own phone
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #10
    Your only alternative is to get an Android phone. You don't get Apple maps and it has Google maps all day long, even has turn by turn.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    ste1164

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #11
    Or get an android phone if it bothers you that much. I usually hide them in folders.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #12
    Don't you have to Root the phone still to do this? One of the things I like about the iPhone (may sound stupid) but I just have Apple stuff. I don't see AT&T logo at start up, no Verizon stuff on them, and just stuff like that.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    ste1164

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #13
    You can disable the app if you have jellybean so you can't see it on your home screen/launcher. If you want to properly remove it you need to root your phone.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #14
    LOLz
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #15
    So hiding it basically?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    ste1164

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #16
    Yes if you aren't rooted no if you are rooted.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    therationalist

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #17
    LOL..whatever.

    Some fanboys at my workplace convinced me to go to the ip5 claiming the lack of bloatware on iphones.

    So I am really disappointed that I have this POS app called apple maps on my phone that I cannot get rid of. It rears its ugly head at the most inapropriate times. really annoying.

    and thats without mentioning passbook, reminders and compass. Things I never use.

    Never realized that apple peddled their overpriced crap with so much bloatware. Oh well. Looks like the grass isnt all that greener
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #18
    [​IMG]
     
  19. thread starter macrumors regular

    therationalist

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #19
    Its bloatware because I dont want it and cant get rid of it. don't give me this semantics nonsense.

    EDIT: lol..dude why you go back and change your post? comes across really weak.
     
  20. macrumors demi-god

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #20
    Just return if you are not happy with iP5 ...

    Life is too short to get so much anger about so little things ...
     
  21. macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #21
    Everything has bloatware then. You can't get Android with zero apps of any kind. Nor Windows. Nor Linux. Nor Mac OS X. Windows Phone 7/8 also has "bloatware" according to your definition. The list goes on and on.

    On Android, carriers and OEMs tend to install their own apps that aren't there in stock/vanilla Android. T-Mobile for one installs a bunch of apps that work with T-Mobile services that not everyone uses. It's not part of stock/vanilla Android and it's hard to remove unless you root and/or install another ROM.

    On iOS, carriers don't get to install anything on the device. Every single iPhone of the same generation has the same exact stuff installed on them. If I bought an iPhone 5 from Verizon, it'd have the exact same software on it as one from AT&T. It won't have carrier logos or any of that.

    ----------

    According to this "logic", there is no electronic device in existence that has no bloatware on it. Not even if you built a PC and bought a system builder version of Windows and installed that, there is still bloatware because you can't uninstall the Calculator app. Or the Control Panel app. Or Windows Explorer.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    so weak. probably don't even lift.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #23
    There is no bloat ware on the iPhone.
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #24
    How about Carrier IQ, compass, and newsstand?

     
  25. virginblue4, Feb 17, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013

    macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #25
    Here is the definition for bloatware:

    "Software whose usefulness is reduced because of the excessive disk-space and memory it requires."

    The iPhone does not have any bloatware on it at all.
     

Share This Page