How do I have Dual monitors (not mirroring) on G4?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Chemical Max, Jul 8, 2005.

  1. Chemical Max macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #1
    Hi
    I have a G4 and want to join two VGA monitors to it. ATI card already in.
    I would like to extend the desktop (not mirror the screens).
    Is all I need is a VGA display PCI card?
    A shop suggested that I will have to link the two cards using a ribbon cable.
    What is the cheapest option?

    Chemical Max
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    The shop is full of sh*p.

    The cheapest option is if you already have a video card that is capable of dual monitors- you would likely have to get an adaptor to mate the second monitor cable with the second output jack on the card. Can't be more specific until we know ehigh G4, which video card and which monitor (s)

    If you have a single output video card, then you can install an additional PCI video card like an ATI Radeon 7000 PCI if you have an open PCI slot. No need to "cable" the cards together (and no way to do it either).

    (PS: Don't go back to that shop for Mac advice, OK?)
     
  4. Chemical Max thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #4
    Ah, yes:
    G4 tower (Charcoal) 400 MHz

    Type: display
    Bus: AGP
    Slot: SLOT-A
    VRAM (Total): 16 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x5046
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-63001-110

    Thanks for the help
    Max
     
  5. Chemical Max thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #5
    Ah, 7000 is for PC, only Mac ATI Radion is 8000 for more cash

    Ah thanks
    Have found this on ebuyer:
    Hightech ATI Radeon 7000 64MB DDR PCI TV-Out Retail Box (R7000 - PTW64D)
    GBP 23
    >>>>> Except that this is for PC only
    >>>>> Only Mac ones are 8000 or 9000. Much more expensive. I assume
    >>>>> they work with a G4(AGP)

    I have ditched the phone number of the sh*p.
    Thanks again
    Max
     
  6. Chemical Max thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #6
    But I cannot buy a radeon 7000

    Except that this is for PC only
    Only Mac ones are 8000 or 9000. Much more expensive. I will assume
    they work with a G4(AGP)
     

Share This Page