how do i join a domain?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by hvnwnd, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. hvnwnd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
  2. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    What do you mean when you say "join a domain"?
     
  3. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #3
    Like a Windows network thing or a web address thing or some other thing entirely?
     
  4. hvnwnd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
  5. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #5
    if you want other Windows people to be able to access your stuff you need to turn on Windows Sharing in System Preferences > Sharing

    If you just want to be able to see Windows machines on the network you should be able to just go to the Network icon in Finder and browse from there. As long as they have sharing turned on, they should just show up

    You might want to use Applications >Utilities >Directory Access : SMB/CIFS : configure to set your machines workgroup name to the same as everyone elses, or use the same app to check whether Active Directory is enabled and configure the domain for that also.
     
  6. hvnwnd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #6
    Thanks, it almost works but some OU configurations. I will ask the admins about them.
     

Share This Page