How do i know which ram is playing up.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MRU, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    My powermac is reporting 512mb missing. This is made up of 2 x 256 mb pieces. How do i know which piece of the 256 is dead if I cant install it in another machine (I dont have another machine that uses the same ram)

    I dont think hardware test was on my powermac g5 discs (this is a 2004 model)

    Is there another hardware test i can do to check it out ? Thanks
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #2
    Remove one ,if it works then it's the other one.
    To check, swap them over.
     
  3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #3
    ...and if you want a hint before performing surgery, look in System Profiler -> Memory, that should give you a summary of which RAM is seated in which RAM bank...
     
  4. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    I thought with it being dual powermac G5, memory had to be in pairs and so if one goes down you cant check the other as it has to be in pairs for it to work ??

    so system profiler shows me memory missing from both bays ? :eek:
     

Share This Page