how do i make my old imac g4 wireless?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by newkeyboard, Aug 25, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #1
    I have a 20" 1.25 ghz imac (with the lamp screen). How would I go about setting up a wireless connection to my bt home hub. I searched the forum and found some mention of wifi cards but I thought the only thing I can add to an imac is ram? Can someone help a wifi noob out?
     
  2. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
    Here's the spec sheet for your computer. The Airport card you need is listed as well. Might be hard to find.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    The easiest options is definitely to buy an AirPort Extreme card. I think these instructions will work for your 20" iMac but haven't ever opened one up personally.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    jczubach

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    northwest
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #5
    You have a G4 that will take an Extreme card, they are not just plentiful, but they are still for sale in Apple stores and mail order companies. Popping one in is a little interesting, but go slow, stay organized, it is not that bad.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #6
    What about a 15 inch 1.0 ghz g4

    I have a 15 inch 1.0 ghz g4 and am having a hard time figuring out if it will take airport extreme of just airport. Thanks.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    Same model family as the OP. You need the extreme. (Fortunately).
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    If you do your research, you can find some USB wireless adapters that will work in OS X.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #9
    sorry to bring this thread back to life, but I am trying to make my imac wireless also. If I get an airport extreme card is that all I need to access the internet via my non-mac router? or do you need to have a mac base station also?
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    Which iMac? But yes, as long as the card is compatible with the iMac and the router then all should be fine.
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #11
    as long as its wireless g router everything should work just fine
     

Share This Page