how do i put a 320gb drive in a powermac g4 gigabit?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by kenmasters8319, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #1
    i been reading up on the drive limitations of a powermac g4 gigabit models and it seems the most it can handle with out any user intervention is a 120gig hdd.

    now i wanna put a 320gig in that sucker how would i go about doing it?
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #2
    Get a controller card. They can be had for cheap nowadays.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #3
    quick question can i use SATA instead? or am i just limited to using ide controller cards?

    and can i install mac osx on the drive and boot from it??

    i am new to the mac world so please bare with me..

    will this one work??

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815108103

    its cheap and it looks tempting.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #4
    SATA will work as well, just make sure the controller is OS X compatible. The one you linked to didn't mention it so I'd say search around Newegg a bit more for one that specifically states OS X compatibility. Booting I believe depends on the card too, check the actual product page of the card you find for more specific info about it.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    iPhil

    #5
    I put a SIIG SATA 4 connection card from www.macsales.com and right now i got (1) 300GB SATA drive and (1) 400 GB SATA drive in there .... Wanting to put a (4) 750GB drives to finally put my Gigabit Ethernet Tower as media server.. :D
     
  6. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    You can use a SATA controller but you must make sure the manufacturer guarantees that the firmware is Mac compatible, and with your model.

    Also, few SATA controller cards are bootable in OSX. I think Firmtek's is the only one; and then onlu in specific models of machine.

    A parallel ATA controller (ATA/100 or ATA/133, again Mac compatible) may be a better choice.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    #7
    huummm........ SIIG, Firmtek and Sonnet (Acard-based only, but not the Promise-based ones) are all bootable in all G4's running OS X. I've used several of each in a B&W G3, Sawtooth, DA, and a QS/867 notta problemo :D
     

Share This Page