How do I record what is being played from within the Mac?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by animefx, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. animefx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    On the PC (windows) is easy to record audio that is coming from "within" the operating system, I just record Stereo mix and it will record audio from whatever I do in Windows.

    What If I want to record as a Wav the text to speech feature built into mac, or some audio from a youtube video, or audio only from a dvd that I have playing in the Mac? Please don't suggest putting a microphone up to the speakers or anything like that (it sounds terrible that way anyways), I want to just hit record in a software program.

    Can someone help me out?

    Thanks,
    -Bryan
     
  2. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #2
    wiretap

    But there are restricition from within other programs. For instance apple's dvd player wont even let you take a screen shot much less record anything.
     
  3. anothernewbie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Location:
    Deming, New Mexico
  4. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
    #4
    I second WireTap.

    Edit: You can use Automator's "Text to Audio File" action to record you're Mac speaking.
     
  5. BigPrince macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #5
    Trying recording with garageband....just put the volume on high. I think there is even a better way for free, I will look tomorrow for it.
     
  6. setso macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    #6
    On the PC (windows) is easy to record audio that is coming from "within" the operating system, I just record Stereo mix and it will record audio from whatever I do in Windows.


    ..sorry, but i can't find any option in Windows XP SP2 like "Wave output" etc
    ..and i'm nearly about to switch from pc to osx for recording with mac tools
    ..
    ..can you conform that option in the windows mixer ? ..it's really not there !
    ..
     
  7. Samwise592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #7
    ummm... why not just connect an audio cable from the speaker out to the line in?
     
  8. applefan1997 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Koreatown, Los Angeles, California
    #8
    Because the input volumes would be to loud, to much gain, yada yada....(I tried it in OS 9)
     
  9. donovanchase macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #9
    As far as the speaker out, line in answer; I think that if you go into preferences you can lower the line out volume (and maybe the line in sensativity also?) wich will reduce the volume/gain. It may require some trial and error though. Good luck.
     
  10. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    I've been using Audio Hijack Pro for a long time.I highly recommend it.
     
  11. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #11
  12. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #12
    you can take a screenshot of the DVD player if you use anything but the keyboard shortcut for OSX.
     
  13. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #13
    Take Screenshots Without The Keyboard Shortcut? How?

    I don't know how to do that without the "shortcut". Please explain how you do that. :confused:
     
  14. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens

Share This Page