How do I reformat HD of an LC III?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jharing, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. jharing
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    #1
    I have a Mac LC III from like 1991, I want to get rid of it but want to clean the harddrive, first. Is there a reformat command to use to wipe the disk clean? Or, if easy, can I just remove the harddrive?

    PS, if anyone wants it, and is willing to pay for shipping, it's theirs.
     
  2. chv400
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #2
    I think you probably need to boot off of an external drive like a floppy or external HD. (maybe very hard to find)
     
  3. thecow
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Location:
    Timonium MD
    #3
    Do you have a strong magnet? That might work if you know where the HD is in the case.
     
  4. sgarringer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #4
    These things have nice power supplies -- I have a 7W pirate FM transmitter installed in one. Left the logic board so when i turn it on the first thing transmitted is the nice Mac OS chime. =]
     
  5. kettle
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    kettle

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
    #5
    If you have another machine with scsi you could attach it to that.

    The LCIII is very easy to open, just two clips at the back and the top lifts off. The scsi drive is just clipped in place too, probably a 120MB drive.

    The utility you need is "drive setup" in the utilities folder. This can zero all data.
     
  6. Mechcozmo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #6
    Download the Network Floppy from Apple's obsolete tech page. Its a floppy disk that you can download. It is fully bootable floppy. You can mess with the contents (remove chooser) and place the Disk Setup Utility on it.

    It isn't that hard. Start off the floppy. See if the floppy has the Disk Setup Utility. It it does, use it. If not, then trash some non-vital things from the floppy and copy from the hard drive the Disk Setup Utility. Then use it.
     
  7. Nermal
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #7
    On an LC it's called Apple HD SC Setup. Drive Setup was for IDE drives if I remember correctly.
     
  8. kettle
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    kettle

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
    #8
    yesh, you're right, it is HD SC Setup for non PPC. Drive Setup is for OS 7.5 on a PowerPC chip but will do SCSI drives as well as IDE.
     
  9. California
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #9
    Can I take out the HD of my old LC III and plug it into my Powerbook with a USB connection/enclosure.
     
  10. Mr. G4
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Mr. G4

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    #10
    No...the drive is SCSI.
    So unless you have an enclosure that take SCSI drive to Firewire you won't be able to access it.
    There are also PCMCIA-SCSI card that you can connect to your Powerbook.
     
  11. California
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004

Share This Page