How do I remove it??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Nym, Nov 6, 2006.

  1. Nym macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #1
    That Mac startup sound.... "MMMMMMMMMM", how do I prevent it from playing everytime I turn on or restart my iMac? It's really annoying because I'm always switching from OSX to XP via bootcamp, and it's not nice to get home at 6am and suddently "MMMMMMMMMMMMM" and wake everybody up :)

    Also, since I'm already here, I have a 2.1 sound system connected to my iMac but the speakers are always broadcasting some cheesy radio in the background (like it's catching the radio frequency all the time), basically every time I'm trying to work quietly or listening to some music not very loudly I can hear the radio playing in the background :S someone told me it had something to do with the power plug that the stereo was connected to or whatever, I just to know if someone here has ever got this problem and if someone knows what to do to fix it :O
     
  2. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

    FadeToBlack

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Accoville, WV
    #2
    Not sure if this works or not, but you can try muting your speakers before you restart. It seems like I remember reading that somewhere before. I actually like the startup chime, so I've never tried it.
     
  3. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #3
    Yes, muting before/while startup will work, but if you want a more permanent solution, there is TinkerTool System.

    The 5-time evaluation mode will allow you to mute the startup chime.



    irmongoose
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    FWIW, it's sometimes good to leave this sound alone because it actually has a purpose. If there's a hardware issue with your computer, you'll hear a different chime. Hearing the normal chime (POST) means that according to your Mac, everything's fine. :)
     
  5. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #5
    ok, the fact that my iMac is feeling well makes me more happy, however, I really need to shut him up :D It's not that I don't like the chime, but it's very inconvenient sometimes... lol. About the other problem? Is anyone picking up radio static through the speakers? :)
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6

    Haha, fair enough. Well, pressing the mute button on your keyboard before you shut down should suffice. In fact, I think you can even press it at startup, before the POST (chime) and it'll get in before the noise comes blaring out... If you're quick. :p



    Well, try some of the techniques in this thread. :)
     
  7. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #7
    Yep, thanks for the assistance Mad Jew, you're really helpful! :) However, it doesn't quite help me since the speakers play radio even if I disconnect them from the iMac, it's something that the speakers are getting and I don't know why, damn, yesterday I was playing F.E.A.R (runs perfect on a 24" iMac, base model BTW :) ) and during those creepy bits it was killing the mood of the game listening to the speakers playing Final Countdown by Europe in the background, LOL! unbelievable :D
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Awesome music choice! :D

    Well, if the problem is related to the shielding on the cables, then using different cables might help. If it happens when the cables are all completely unplugged then maybe try moving your speakers to somewhere else. Other than that, sorry but I've got nothin'. :eek:
     
  9. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #9
    lol, I figured, anyway, it was a longshot asking this question :) Guess I'll just go around the house plugin' the speakers to different power plugs, see if that is the problem. Thanks for your help Jew :cool: "it's the final countdown!!!", LMAO!
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    No worries mate. Good luck with the speakers. :D
     
  11. Kiscokid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #11
    just checked tnt and my 24' iMac is in amsterdam so should be with me very soon....I seriously hope that I dont get Europe songs coming through my speakers though - that would be enough to top anyone off....

    Re: the apple sound - this can be a bit annoying - I just get into a habit of muting the sound when I turn off my other mac.
     
  12. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #12
    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL! The problem is with the speakers (external), the iMac will make you sh*t your pants :D it's fantastic! eheh.
     
  13. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #13
    When I was in high school I used to work the audio and visual effects for any show/assembly. I have had this issue a number of times and it has nothing to do with the outlet the speakers are plugged into. It is a problem with the cable. What is physically happening is (either in the shielding or the main conductor) one of the wires has broken and is now acting like a radio antenna.

    It is not the power cord because the radio signal has to be amped in order for you to hear it, and the power cable does not feed into a line input (or output, as in the signal may be conducting through the grounding of the connection).

    As I said I had the same problem many number of times (thats what you get for using old equipment) and sadly it was a country radio station.:(
     
  14. Kiscokid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #14
    give me Dolly Parton's assets over poodle-haired rockers any day of the week :p
     
  15. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #15
    So? I just need to switch the cable? :D
    That'd be great, you can't imagine how this makes me crazy, always having a cheesy radio playing in the background, I'm trying to sleep and I hear Christina Aguilera and Shakira playing through the speakers, not much of a lullaby... lol.

    Hey Kisco, don't talk too much or you'll be getting Europe pumpin through your speakers too :D they're evil... :mad:
     
  16. Kiscokid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #16
    I guess at least you don't get their video coming up on the screen as well ... then you really would be ready to vomit.

    Hope you get the problem sorted.... by the way - sorry this is slightly off topic - but are you still disappointed at the dvd viewing quality on the 24"??
     
  17. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #17
    Humm, a little, if you move a bit away from the screen it looks much nicer! and mpeg/avi video looks good in front row (been following Lost Season 3) so I just put the files in "Movies" and it looks better than the DVD playback in some cases :D if it's HD, than it looks excellent, we should be preparing for the future right? eheh.
    However, even if it sucked big time, no way I would trade my 24 Incher, it's amazing, I got the base config and you can't imagine my face when I installed F.E.A.R and saw how fluid and detailed it runs :O (1024x768 of course, looks beautiful even at that res).

    edit: if Europe showed up on my screen I would sue Apple for moral injuries!
     
  18. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #18
    Try, in this order:

    1) Just try a different cable.
    2) You could put ferrite cores on each end.
    3) Try a coax cable, but then you'll need a string of adapters to get from headphone plug to coax.
    4) Or you could wrap the cable in aluminum foil. Cheap, but a pain. And makes you look like a wacko!

    Ooh, you could also try just re-shaping the cable. I presume you are getting FM radio, coiling it a bit could get rid of the antenna-like properties. Or if it is coiled and you are picking up AM, reverse that.
     
  19. savanahrose macrumors 6502a

    savanahrose

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    just this side of heaven, CHARLESTON SC
    #19
    creepy bits it was killing the mood of the game listening to the speakers playing Final Countdown by Europe in the background, LOL! unbelievable


    no problem there for me. I love that song! lol
     
  20. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #20
    Ahrghhhh, nothing works, went to buy a brand new cable yesterday! But that crap never shuts up... I'm buying some new speakers and sound system when I get paid :cool:

    LOL, liking Europe is a lifestyle! :eek: (so as Dolly Parton)

    And c'mon! I'm not gonna wrap my cables in aluminum foil!! are you insane? ahah, nice suggestion anyway :D
     
  21. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #21
    Hey, I told you it would make you look like a wacko! That might not be all bad, actually. Keep visitors calm and cautious.

    Buy from a place you can return it. These are not shielded cables (I presume), and a new one may not fix the problem.

    I should add....
    It could actually be the speakers themselves that have the radio problem internally. The cable would just be acting as an additional bit of antenna to boost just enough to get it audible. Then you'd probably be best served with new speakers.
     
  22. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #22
    That's what I'm thinking now.. I guess you get what you paid for, but the 25€ label for 2 speakers and sub-woofer looked so sexy :( lol, I'll buy some new ones this week ;)
     
  23. volk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #23
    The RF problem is the result of the amplifier in the speakers being poorly grounded or shielded coupled with poorly shielded speaker wires. Your speakers are now a built in radio! I would advise getting those replaced or shielded...in my experience (I work in radio), strong enough RF has been able to create voltage fluctuations that can damage or ruin sensitive electronic components.
     
  24. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #24
    Dude, of course! What was I thinking? Another option would be to wrap the entire speakers in aluminum foil. Even more freaky. :D
     
  25. Nym thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nym

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #25
    I'm gonna wrap up the speakers in alluminum and take a pic :D gotta see how that looks! If I never post again on this forum was because someone saw me doing it and sent me to an asylum. :)
     

Share This Page