How do I rename a volume?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by emoin, Jun 8, 2003.

  1. emoin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    #1
    Yep. I have an external firewire drive where I have my entire iTunes library, and in the past it's always been called "NO_NAME," so all of the library entries point to that volume. However, for some reason it spontaneously renamed itself "NO_NAME 1" recently, and iTunes can't find any of my music. How can I get this volume back to its original name?
     
  2. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Maybe I am missing your question, but can't you just click on it and press enter to rename it, I hope that's what you are asking.
     
  3. emoin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    #3
    I tried to do that, but for some reason you can't rename a volume the same way you rename folders. Personally, I'm stumped.
     
  4. pEZ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #4
    If you can't do it directly from the desktop, try renaming it from the Get Info window - as I recall, that worked for me in the past. Or maybe I'm imagining that.
     
  5. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #5
    Here's what I suggest you do--

    Open "Disk Utility" in your Utilities folder. Repair that disk's permissions, under the First Aid tab. That should make it so you can rename the volume just as you would any other file or folder... Somehow, the volume has been locked so that you can't change the name-- there are other ways to fix this, but repairing permissions should take care of any problems associated with it. Rename the folder, relauch iTunes, and you should be good--

    let me know if this worked--

    pnw
     
  6. emoin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    #6
    The Disk Utility program says that you can only repair permissions on a Mac OS X boot volume. If it makes any difference, the format of the volume is MS-DOS (Macintosh PC Exchange).
     
  7. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #7
    ah, ouch forgot about that. The fact that it's MS-DOS could be contributing, may I ask why you use this format? Unless you actually use it on MS-DOS computers, you should reformat to the Mac's file system. Anyhoo, here's what you want to do. In the Get Info window, open the Ownership & Permissions window, click the Unlock button and authenticate, then make sure the owner is your OS X username, and that you have Read & Write Acceess. Then open the Name & Extension triangle (since you're already in here) and change the name back--

    Hope this helps, tho I might be missing something-- I don't work with alternate formats very often...

    pnw
     
  8. emoin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    #8
    It's in DOS format because it's the hard drive from my old computer, a PC. Can I format it to Mac OS X without losing my files?
     
  9. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    no.

    you will have to move them to anoother medium (drive, cd-r, etc) than reformat into HFS+ (MacOS Extended).

    then drag back. But believe me, it is worth it. HFS+ is only superceded by one other FS - BFS (BeOS FS).

    So, unless you can read BFS on your mac (i dunno, dont got a BFS volume) got HFS+.

    Good luck.
     
  10. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #10
    Yeah as was said, you'll need to move the files off of it briefly-- CD's are great for this... Then reformat. It will certainly be an improvement, it will work like a normal disk should after that.

    Did changing the permissions manually work at all?

    pnw
     

Share This Page