How do I run a ported app? (Darwin ports)

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by nplima, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi All,

    This is probably a simple problem, but I can't find relevant instructions on the documentation...

    I used Darwin ports to get Gnumeric onto my Mac. I left it working all night and now I can open a X11 terminal and run Gnumeric by typing its path and name. I imagine there's a way to script these 2 steps: open X11, run /opt/local/bin/gnumeric

    How do I do it?

    thanks!

    Nuno
     
  2. macrumors member

    djdawson

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    I was just reading Apple's X11 FAQ and it mentioned the "open-X11" Terminal command. It opens X11 and starts whatever applications you give it as arguments. So, if you have /opt/local/bin in your search path you should be able to just do "open-X11 gnumeric" and it'll start X11 and then gnumeric all in one shot. Pretty nifty!

    HTH
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    savar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    District of Columbia
    #3
    Also, if you save a terminal session there's an option to save the command you ran it, then when you double click on that file it automatically runs that command. So now you're down to a double-click. How's that?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    thanks!

    you guys rule, man!

    :D
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    #5
    A little Late here, but you could make an Applescript so it will be a full application.
     

Share This Page