How do I run an app designed for System 6.0.7 on OSX?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Sesshi, Jun 28, 2006.

  1. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #1
    Question as title. There are some old titles I'd just like to catch up with.
     
  2. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #2
    Unless they're updated for OS X I think you're SOL.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    You probably just want to run OS6 or 7 on a 68000 Mac emulator like Basilisk II. You'll need a ROM from the right vintage Mac.

    B
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Most apps, so long as they don't do anything "clever" will work if you have Classic installed. If you're on an Intel system then you don't have Classic and will need to look into emulation.
     
  5. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #5
    Hmmm... so perhaps better to ebay some superannuated Mac?
     
  6. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #6
    ... or don't run in a 32 bit environment... I have apps that won't run on systems running System 7.x.x (Macromind Director 2 is one title that comes to mind off hand).
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    This is going back a bit, but wasn't there an option in 7 to reboot in 24-bit mode? Presumably it's long gone in 9 though.
     
  8. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    IIRC, there were two INITs/Extensions (one from Apple, another from Connectix eventually adopted by Apple) that allowed 24-bit systems to run in 32-bit mode, but not vice-versa. If the OP's application was designed for System 6.0.7 (and nothing earlier), then it should run in Classic.
     
  9. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #9
    it was in the memory control panel in 7.x.x... I still kept my old system (back around 1991) able to dual boot between 7.0 and 6.0.8 for some apps because some of the issues didn't go away with switching just the mode.

    Of course 68000 systems were stuck in that 24 bit mode all the time. And Apple dropped both support for the 24 bit mode and support for 24 bit hardware in Mac OS 7.6 as I recall.
     

Share This Page