How do I run programs on start up?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Sundance2007, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #1
    I have several programs I installed (like the Gmail email notifier) that should run on start up and be running in the back ground without my having to start them each time I boot. When I installed the program I assumed (I know) this would be taken care of. They ran great till I rebooted but they didn't restart as they should after the system came back up. Did I do something wrong? Click and install were the only options. How do I get this and other programs I want to run on start up to do so?


    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #2
    Did you right click on the icon and select Open At Login?
     
  3. macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #3
    on the accounts preference pane in the system preferences, click on login items.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #4

    No, because for some unknown (and stupid if you ask me) reason there is no right click function on the selection bar on the laptop (macbook). I was told it is basically a one-click mouse. Nothing happens if I right click. With a USB mouse I do get the right click function so I need to start using a mouse when I can I guess. Thanks, it was right in front of me but hidden.



    Steve
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    CONTROL-CLICK should give you a right-clickesque function.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Brampton, ON, Canada
    #6
    hold 2 fingers on the track pad and then click. thats a right click
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    #7
    Neither of the above (2 finger or control) work. I tried them and they select the item but I get no menu.


    Also, I have not seen this option in any menu of icons I have right clicked (with a mouse) on.
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    That's strange. Well you can still add Login Items the old fashioned way - through System Preferences. It should be an option in the Accounts pane. :)
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #9
    And what version of Mac OSX are you running?
     
  10. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    3 year old thread. And it doesn't matter. It still works this way.
     

Share This Page