How do I set function keys?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by Mala, Dec 20, 2003.

  1. Mala macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #1
    With my old G3 PowerBook I was able to go into the Keyboard settings and set the function keys to go along with what individual programs.

    So in Word, F7 spellchecked; in Quark it showed or hid the guides, for instance.

    How do I do this in Panther, please?
     
  2. slipper macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
  3. Mala thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #3
    Hmm. Something occurred to me, and I pressed fn-F7 in Word - and it spellchecked! so maybe that'll work for all function keys - though it could be a bit of a nuisance in Quark, where there are some shortcuts that already require you to be an octopus.
     
  4. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #4
    And how can you turn the volume up and down by pressing the f keys. I have a Blue & White and it doesn't have special keys on the keyboard. But I figured that you could also do this with a applescript of some kind. Does anyone ever tried this?!
     
  5. Mala thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #5
    I've just switched to Panther from MacOS 9.2.2, so I'm not sure who's where and what's different. But on my PowerBook you can use F3, F4 and F5 to mute, turn down and turn up the volume, respectively.

    But there's also a volume indicator up beside the Irish flag near the clock on the top menu bar.
     
  6. bburchill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    #6
    I'd also like to know how to do this in OSX Jag and/or Panther. Can the F keys be set differently for various applications via the OS or do they have to be set with-in the application (and if so how)?
     
  7. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #7
    F7 is the standard SpellCheck hotkey for Word - I've been using it for years in Word on my PCs at home and work, and my new Mac. Shift-F7 on a PC brings up the Thesaurus too. So, I doubt this is the standard "spellcheck" key. :)
     
  8. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #8
    the F3, 4 and 5 don't work on my B&W for sound. Or any of the other F keys. This should be simple to imply?!?! Isn't there a program out there that can do this?!
     
  9. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #9
    I think they got rid of function keys for apps since now there is a dock
     
  10. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    On laptops, the early Function keys have pre determined fuctions, like changing the volume or brightness. On desktops, because they presumably have the Apple Keyboard, there are dedicated keys for volume. Brightness is controlled with the last keys of the F series, usually F14 and F15. And as you know, in Panther F9, F10, and F11 are used for Exposé.

    In OS 9, you could program the Function keys to do what you wanted them to do. But because Apple has predetermined their functions, you can no longer. However, there are 3rd party Apps that do this for you:

    CE QuicKeys

    xKeys
     
  11. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    With QuicKeys you can set the function keys for whatever you want. You can use applescripts to do almost anything that you want.
     
  12. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #12
    x keys is perfect and exactly what I mean! Even looked into the sample applescript, especially the mute and volume maximum. Already tried to make a script to put the volume up +1 and down -1, but that doesn't work... applescript code: set volume +1. Applescript removes the + when saving. Does anyone know how to program applescript to do this? I am really not into applescript and tried it several times, but always without the desired result!
     

Share This Page