How Do I Set Up My Tmobile Data Plan On Iphone?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by born2win413, Sep 5, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    born2win413

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #1
    I just unlocked my friend's iPhone 2g 2.0.2 and he has the internet data plan with T-Mobile, but I have no idea where to begin setting that up. What do I do? Thanks.


    P.S. He's deaf so I look out for him even though he's older then me.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    If he has the $5.99 plan, just go into Cydia and find the TZones Hack. Install that, and it should start working. (A restart might be needed. Not sure.) If it's the $19.99 one, I've heard that it SHOULD work right away, but might not. (That's the most descriptive I can be. Sorry.)
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #3
    If it's the 19.99 plan then go to settings>> General>>network>>Cellular Data Network>> and where it says VPN, type in on that line internet2.voicestream.com>> leave Username & Password blank. Exit out and try using the Web. It should work.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    i have the same issue too.
    I have a 2nd generation iPhone running 2.1 w/ the $19.99 unlimited blackberry data plan w/ tmobile.

    I can call and text no problem, but i cannot connect to edge.

    I have entered internet2.voicestream.com, internet3.voicestream.com, and wap.voicestream.com into the APN settings and I still get an error that says that I have not subscribed to a data plan.

    Please help!
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    holy ***** man!

    i entered that into my apn and it worked PERFECTLY!

    thank you so much! you have no idea how many fourms i've been to telling me 20 different apn addresses or telling me to install tmobile packages off of cydia (that took away my apn settings... but i fixed that obviously)

    enough rambling...


    THANK YOU!
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - RJ
    #7
    Unlocked?

    Sorry if I sound silly but the version 2.1 is also unlocked after Pwned? Just JB mine but I did not even tried with another ship. Would it work?

    thanks!
    Erick
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    #8
    I used pwnage tool and updated my 2g iPhone from 1.1.1 to 2.1. In doing so it unlocked and jailbroke it simultaneously. I am currently using tmobile running edge on the 19.99 blackberry plan. Refer to the above posts for apn change. It runs flawlessy.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #9

    You don't need the hack anymore with 2.1... I don't know about 2.0
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #10
    I just got T-Mobile service today, I can't get my Edge/non wifi internet to work. I've tried all the apn configurations listed in this thread and none seem to work. I keep getting an error message that says I have not subscribed to a cellular data plan. I have the $5.99/month service. Any help would be tremendously appreciated. :(
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #11
    Nevermind! :eek:

    I got it to work! I used: epc.tmobile.com in my network settings after I UNINSTALLED that damn T-Zones hack. :)
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #12
    which plan?

    Hi, Could someone please explain to me where you're finding these 19.99 or 5.99 data plans with t-mobile? All I see are data plans starting at 29.99 for the sidekick and 39.99 for a blackberry... Thank you!!
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, USA
    #13
    Find a phone that comes with t-zones (e.g. Samsung Katalyst) and it'll give you the option to add the data plan.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #14
    i really wish there was a universal solution to this problem.
    heres my issue:

    * had a sidekick 2 w/ $19.99 sidekick data plan
    * upgraded to iPhone 2g
    * used QuickPwn to unlock/jailbreak phone
    * everything works fine, wifi, phone, sms
    * not getting any love for EDGE
    * tried the above cellular data network settings to no avail


    here are my main questions

    - do i need a different data plan than the one i am currently using through t-mobile because i went from a sidekick to iPhone as opposed to blackberry to iPhone? (ive had this same data plan for 3+ years)

    - are there any other data network settings that need to be changed (either through BossPrefs, CDN settings on the phone, etc.?)

    - whenever i try to connect (using internet2.voicestream.com, wap.voicestream.com, or epc.tmobile.com) i receive the same "could not activate cellular data network: You are not subscribed to a cellular data service" error. is this just a generic error, or is it really not recognizing my data plan?

    - should i just call t-mobile? :cool:

    thanks!
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
    1) I'm not sure -- I do seem to remember that the Sidekick plan is not exactly the same as other data plans ... but I've never owned a Sidekick.

    2) No.

    3) It's a generic error you get when the data service is not working; i.e. it's the same error I get when for some reason EDGE is temporarily unavailable.

    4) Yes, that's exactly what you should do. :p They were very nice when I called them and asked them to help me get set up to use my iPhone with T-Mo.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Hls811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #16
    I'm kinda in the same boat, if/when AT&T does away with the PAYG plan in November I think my only option is T-Mobile.

    Is the T-Mobile Data plan available without voice service or is it $19.99/mo + voice?
    I'm currently on the AT&T PAYG I pay $19.99 for unlimited data, $4.99 for 200 Texts and then .25 cents a minute for voice (which I don't use) - is there anything similar with T-Mobile?
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #17
    also, another thing ive found thats weird. if i access my tmobile online -- it ties your service options to you phone. it is no longer recognizing my phone as a sidekick.

    for any of you who have tmobile w/ your iphone, do you select a specific device, or is it just arbitrary?
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #18
    It doesn't matter, but you really should pick one that has WiFi and EDGE and is not a Blackberry. This way you will make sure you get T-Mobile Hotspot coverage also. The Shadow is probably a reasonable pick.
     
  19. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #19
    So what's the deal with epc.tmobile.com? Has anyone called T-mobile and asked about it? From what I read people don't need to use the T-Zones Hack with this APN... so has a rep or anyone mentioned anything about this?

    Basically I don't want to sign up for T-Zones only for them to close down epc.tmobile.com.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #20
    please help me

    So how do you make it work? only typing epc.tmobille.com? is that all?
    please share your knowledge with me
     
  21. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #21
    For just internet it's 39.99 a month, no voice minutes or text
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    docprego

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #22
    Am I understanding this correctly? I can buy an iPhone 2G (first generation) and sign up with T-Mobile for a data only plan at $39.99 month. Then I would get all of the iPhone functionality minus visual voice mail and voice calling for that $39.99 month? OD you just call T-Mobile and tell them that you want data only for an iPhone and they will allow it and help you set it up? Or do you have to get some other T-mobile phone to make it look like you will be using their phone?

    I am confused.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    #23
    My experience:

    I used Pwnagetool to jailbreak and unlock my phone. I bought a SIM card on eBay that could be used with Prepaid and Flex Pay plans on T-Mobile. I called T-Mobile, told them I have a phone and SIM already and I wanted to sign up for a new line of service. I told them I wanted the $39.99 a month voice plan with $5.99 T-zones web and $4.99 messaging plan. They asked for the SIM card #, the IMEI number and gave me a brief choice of phone numbers to choose from. I never had to tell them what kind of phone I had. I bought prepaid card numbers from PINZOO to pay for the bill b/c I didn't want to use a credit card and b/c you can get bonus airtime when you use cards that goes into your Flex Account. T-Mobile never asked me to do anything to my phone and once it was activated shortly after, I entered epc.tmobile.com under Settings-General-Network-Cellular Data Network and left username and password blank and everything has been gravy ever since. Hope this helps!
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #24
    iPhone and Shi-T-Mobile: A good option, and a cheap one too!

    I just wanted to clarify for anyone who is interested in using an iPhone with Shi-T-Mobile that this is a great option. I've been using T-Mobile since 2001 and I bought an iPhone about 6 months ago. I told the T-Mobile representative on the phone that I have an iPhone and I need help setting it up for Data. I had already unlocked and jailbroken my phone using PWNAGETool and the Unlock Guide, which are free downloads, and I'm technologically retarded so if I can do it, ANYONE can do it. It took me an hour the first time, but it only took 15 minutes the second time I had to do it when I broke my first iPhone and traded it in for a second one. They said just put the SIM card in at the top and then they transferred me to a specialist who was more familiar with iPhones. They actually have special technical support specialists who deal with the iPhone even though it's not a T-mobile phone.

    Like the earlier posts said, the people at T-Mobile just said to input internet2.voicestream.com into the APN (not the VPN) under Settings -> General -> Network -> Cellular Data Network -> APN. The representative said I had to buy the $39.99 plan and that she wasn't allowed to give me the $19.99 plan so I hung up, called back and got another representative on the phone and he allowed me the $19.99 plan. With T-Mobile, as with many other companies, it's all about the representative you get on the phone. If you don't get what you want, just call back and get another rep. until you get what you want! There's no reason to pay $39.99 when you can have unlimited texts and data for 19.99. That's right, UNLIMITED data for $19.99. HOW?, you ask. Well, you call them back after having the plan for a couple of days, and you tell them that you can't monitor your MB usage on the T-Mobile MyMobile webpage. So you don't know when you will go over the allotted 100MB (I know you can monitor on the phone, but they don't offer a way to monitor on their webpage, so they can't expect you to know how much you have used). So I told them I didn't wanna go over my 100MB and pay extra. After all, they give you 4 different ways to monitor your minutes and text message usage, so why can't they give you ONE way to monitor your data usage.

    The supervisor got on the phone and told me that until they figure out how to change this to allow the user to monitor their data, they wouldn't charge if I go over my allotted 100MB. In other words, unlimited data for $19.99. So when they DO figure out how to update their webpage, I'll just call back and tell them I've been with them for 8 years, I've been getting unlimited data for $19.99 and I don't think it's fair for them to start charging me $40 instaed of $20 all of the sudden ;). They'll say thank you for being a loyal customer and we'll take care of it. :) Now, Shi-T-Mobile may not have the best service, and there may be some drop zones and so on and so forth, but unlimited minutes for $49.99 and unlimited texts and data for $19.99 is just UNBEATABLE.

    So, I reiterate, having an iPhone with Shi-T-Mobile is definitely an option, and a cheap one at that!

    The only downside is you can't use the 3G network of T-Mobile with the iPhone, and this is for technical reasons, not because T-Mobile doesn't want you to use their 3G network with another companies phone. But most of the time, you are using a WiFi or LAN signal anyways, so it's not a big deal. And the EDGE network isn't that slow. But if you want the 3G speeds, stick with AT&T or get the Google phone on T-Mobile (I still say get the iPhone with T-Mobile).

    I hope this encourages someone who is unsure what to do to switch to the iPhone and enjoy the cheap service of T-Mobile. The iPhone is a life changing peice of equipment, and this is coming from a guy who isn't really too into technology.

    Best,
    -gmudotedu :apple:
     
  25. macrumors 601

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #25
    Yep, use this one. I dont use the hack and it works just fine.
     

Share This Page