How do I switch back to SL from Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Hrmwsu, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. Hrmwsu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #1
    I am currently using Lion. I don't like it. Plain and simple.

    How do I switch to me previous OS?

    Please and thank you.

    P.S. (I'm new to MacRumors, please don't kill me if this is a dumb question)
     
  2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #2
    YOu Have to back up your data and erase your hard drive. Then reinstall SL from your Mac disk.
     
  3. Hrmwsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #3
    Alright, call me stupid. What's the easiest way to do that? Can I drag and drop one single thing into a portable hard drive?
     
  4. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #4
    I don't actually know, but I'm pretty sure a time machine backup would work.
     
  5. Hrmwsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #5
    I have NO idea how that works.
     
  6. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #6
    System preferences>time machine. Flip the switch to on and locate your backup drive.
     
  7. Hrmwsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #7
    Alright, what if I bought my mac and it came with SL, do i still have those disks?
     
  8. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #8
    I don't know if you have those disks. I can't check your house for you. Lol

    Edit: are you asking if those are the right disks? Because they are.
     
  9. Hrmwsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #9
    Yes, the second part. Haha.
     
  10. saving107, Aug 4, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011

    saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #10
    :D


    Unless you have time machine enabled, which from readying above I gather that you don't, then you will need to copy (drag and drop) these 6 folders into an external hard drive.

    [​IMG]

    They are located under Macintosh HD> Users> (User Name)

    they are the core folders that more likely hold your media. How many user accounts do you have on your computer?

    Also, Time Machine will be the easiest way to back-up everything.
     
  11. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #11
    That won't back up any of your setting though. I recommend activating time machine.
     
  12. Hrmwsu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #12
    I have mine and a guest account that is never used.

    That's really all I need?
     
  13. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #13
    is it recommended/possible to restore settings if your coming from Lion?

    I know that it works if your upgrading, but does it make a difference if your downgrading?
     
  14. shrx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

Share This Page