How do I update the .Mac icon in System Preferences to MobileMe?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, iCloud and Apple Services' started by Tsurisuto, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #1
    I thought it would happen via a software update, but nothing has come through as of yet.
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    The software update should have done it. It did for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #3
    There's been no software update for me to download. It says that all my software is up to date. :(
     
  4. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Ahh, that explains it. The update hasn't been "officially" released yet. A few posted links to it and people downloaded and installed it early. But you're not missing anything. They're still having severe problems with the service, so you're better off waiting till they have it up and running and Software Update finds it. For the most part, it's not working yet.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #5
    The funny thing is that the MobileMe site does not entirely work with Safari 4.
     
  6. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    That's what I'm talking about. It doesn't work, no matter which browser you're using.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #7
    It's working fine for me with FireFox 3. I haven't had one problem since this morning.
     
  8. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    But you haven't installed MobileMe.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #9
    Either you're confused or I am?

    The software update is only to change the .Mac icon in system preferences and change a few settings in Mail, isn't it?

    MobileMe is a website, I'm accessing through me.com (which works fine with FireFox, but not with Safari 4).
     
  10. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    I believe there's a lot more to it than that, or they wouldn't be having so many problems with it. Here's a thread that most are posting in regarding this issue.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Alan Taylor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Mississauga
    #11
    The icon is cute, but I hope they don't move too much in that direction. It's a terrible design decision to have everything as rounded off squares...
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #12
    It's now 12.45pm on Friday here in the UK. Where is my 2.0 iPhone software?!
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Oxford, OH
    #13
    Sorry if it's been mentioned already (there are so many different threads already on MobileMe), but I downloaded the pkg that was found from the XML file, or whatever, and there are still a few references to .mac around, in iPhoto for example. Anyone else notice?
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    erikistired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    (770)
    #14
    safari 4 hasn't been officially released yet, so i'm sure apple is focusing on existing browsers first (safari 3, firefox 3, intern...wait not that one).
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #15
    Still No Me

    I'm still not getting the Mobile Me update. Mine still says .Mac, Software Update says I'm all up to date, and Mobile Me seems to be working fine. Just a bit odd ... anyone else or just "me" (no pun intended)?
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #16
    I'm in the exact same situation. After waiting in live for 2 hours this morning and not getting an iPhone, I just want everything on my old phone to be working right. So far everything else appears to be working well.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #17
    Running 10.4.11 here, and have .Mac in System Preferences. Looking forward to MobileMe. I can authenticate to .Mac using my new MobileMe account, but I can't do anything -- no syncing, nothing. This is a bummer.

    -Chris
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #18
    I take it Tiger users wont get this update??
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #19
    update not showing up for me either...

    on the other hand, i can finally log in to mobile me, but it's still very slow.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    tallyho

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    yep me too. I'm sure they'll push out the rest of the updates in the next day or so.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #21
    Mobile Me working for me but my Calendar is all screwed up. The times have all changed all over the place. I checked my settings and it is set to the correct time zone.

    Weird.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #22
    I hope so. I still can't get my .mac in system preferences to change to mobile me....
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Flyinace2000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #23
    whats weird for me is that my desktop got the mobile me update and my macbook didn't. Kinda odd
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #24
    time issue

    it was bizarre that at 9:55 today (friday) and the time on my iphone was 13:29 hrs! I felt like I jumped in time. some minutes later the normal time was restored... uuhhmm
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    #25
    No mobileme settings or icons here. No updates available and still showing 5gb for mail and 5gb for idisk. Bizarre :confused:
     

Share This Page