How do I use a hotmail account in iChat?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 66217, Jun 29, 2006.

  1. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #1
    I don't like the MSN Messenger for Mac, neither I like the amsn.

    So I was trying to get the iChat working, but I don't find a way to use my hotmail account in iChat. Can it be done?

    If not, what messenger would you recommend for a hotmail account?

    Thanks,

    Roco
     
  2. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #2
    iChat is AOL Instant Messenger...so no, you can't do it.

    Try www.adiumx.com
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    Just get a free AIM account. It works fine, and why should it matter if you only use it for iChat?
     
  4. dylan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    #4
    You can actually... Google iChat along with MSN and Jabber.
     
  5. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    yeah, i'm doing that now.

    as for suggesting he use AIM thats completely useless seeing as he wants to talk to people on the MS network, in some places msn is the predominant IM and thats what everyone uses, such as the uk.
     
  6. elisha cuthbert macrumors 6502a

    elisha cuthbert

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #6
    use adium or otherwise if you want to keep ichat go to jabber.org.au register and do everything there and you can use it as a jabber account through ichat.
    hope this helps
     

Share This Page