How do you close a program if it freezes on you

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JSmoove05, Jul 1, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #1
    Itunes just froze on me and I cant close the program. Im new to mac is there anyway to fix this without hitting the power button?
     
  2. Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Apple in the top left->Force quit

    Or, if possible, right click the iTunes icon in the dock, then press 'Force quit' :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #4
    If you can't get Finder to respond in the ways mentioned already, Alt/Option + Command + Escape key will bring up a force quit window.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #5
    The GEEK method would involve opening a Terminal session, invoking top, locating the PID of the frozen program, and then casting a 'Kill -9 [PID]' (do not use the quotes or the square brackets). This will terminate with extreme prejudice ANY process regardless of its state. (Ahh the joys of the UNIX command line)

    Sopranino
     
  6. macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #6
    The other option (to be thorough) is to force-quit the application in Activity Monitor.
     
  7. 4np
    macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Hehe, that's what I do when the rest does not work ;) But most of the times activity monitor can fix the issue :)
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #8
    Kill has a 'Use the Force Luke' feel to it that Force Quit doesn't :D

    Sopranino
     
  9. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #9
    Is this better than just using "killall ProgramName" because sometime EyeTV simply won't quit even when using the above command. Will try the kill -9 PID next time it happens.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #10
    kill [PID] or killall [program name] asks the program nicely to quit. kill -9 [PID] or killall -9 [program name] forces it to quit.
     
  11. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #11
    Thanks for that, will come very handy.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #12
    sfisher is correct on this, but to put it into simpler words, kill -9 will terminate ANY program in ANY state. It's kinda like using a sandblaster on a soda cracker....... major overkill!!

    Sopranino
     
  13. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #13
    Well sometimes overkill is needed *cough* EyeTV *cough* and the feeling of power is great.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #14
    Sopranino, dont lie.

    What to do, if none of the above works?
    I started out trying 'Force Quit' from the Dock, then i tried from the 'Force Quit...' dialog, and then i tried killall and kill, nothing works, and if i try to restart my mac, it just hangs, so i need to power it off by holding the power button down.

    [​IMG]

    I try this sometimes, also with other applications, and it sucks.
    This will NEVER happen in Linux, you can always kill applications in Linux :(
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #15
    I have also had this happen with the bracketed process. No way to kill, just have to turn off to reboot.

    No way to kill process, and no way to re-run the program.

    Is there a resolution to this??

     
  16. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #16
    Ctrl+Click or Right Click on the dock icon gives you that option as well.
     
  17. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #17
    That's weird because I tried to kill my copy of Adobe CS3 for Linux and it didn't work.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    USA
  19. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #19
    See the bit about the app freezing in the title of the thread...now sit down and think about your post.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008

Share This Page