How do you convert Mac os X into Russian?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by princealfie, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. princealfie macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #1
    I would like to convert all of my Mac OS X into Russian but it's not one of the supported languages for startup. What can I do?

    Is there a Russian version of Panther or Tiger?
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    System Preferences==>International==>Edit List==>Russian and drag it to the top of the list.
     
  3. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    Under the International Preference there is an option to Edit the list of preferred languages. Click Edit, then find Russian (it's already presentanted in Russian). Log out and you should be seeing things in Russian.

    If I'm wrong, I'm sorry.

    Edit: Beaten to it
     
  4. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #4

    When I do this (albeit with another language -- Polish), nothing really changes. All the menus and dialog boxes are still in English.:confused:
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    When you installed OS X, did you install the additional languages (I think they're on by default)?
     
  6. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #6
    Go to http://www.apple.ru/macosx/download/ and download the Russian patch for OS. For sure it is available for Tiger - dunno about earlier versions. Russifiers are also available for iWork, by the way.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Mine appears in Russian when I select it, without any additional software :confused:

    Just to confirm, Russian is the one that looks like "Pyccknn"?
     
  8. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #8
    Yes, "Pyccknn" is Russian (more or less) :)
     
  9. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #9
    That is strange: I changed mine to Russian just for kicks and I see no effect - all is still in English...
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    You haven't run Monolingual or anything, have you?
     
  11. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    OS X came pre-installed. I assume all the other languages were installed at the factory since they are available in the International Sys Pref.
     
  12. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #12
    Oh, that's weird. Everything is in English now, but the Quicktime app is all in Russian :)
     
  13. CaptainHaddock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    Nagoya, Japan
    #13
    Because Apple has not focused on the Russian market yet, the OS is not 100% Russified. If you look at http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/international/ you see that there's no Russian localized version even though there's full text and input support.

    I suspect that there are parts of the OS that will default to the next language on the list if Russian is at the top. Applications will naturally only be in Russian if the developer has added a Russian language pack (and most important applications have, naturally).

    I would go to that Apple link nsbio posted, it looks like it might have the missing localization bits for Russian.

    This is an area Apple needs to work on if it wants to capture the huge, growing overseas markets — Russia/CIS, India, etc.

    Update: I found out from a forum thread (http://macslash.org/comments.pl?sid=6344&op=&threshold=0&commentsort=0&mode=thread&pid=113029#113030) that iTunes is now localized in Russian, with full OS support likely in Leopard. (i.e. soon)
     
  14. princealfie thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #14
    This makes me mad! I can't believe that we can't 100% Russify the Mac OS X... I wonder how I will be able to get my girlfriend to switch to Mac when she moves here later this year :mad: :eek:
     
  15. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #15
    Um, assuming you're actually in Utah, I don't think it'll be all that bad for her to use a bit of English, esp. as a fair bit of the OS will be in Russian.
     
  16. USMaC macrumors member

    USMaC

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    #16
    Granted, it's not perfect, but the link provided earlier is a good start. Apple's presence here in Russia has been growing considerably, so I would think it's reasonable to expect better support in Leopard.

    Personally, I'd take a partially Russified Mac OS X over a fully Russified Windows any day.:D
     
  17. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #17
    Russification of OS X!!! I love it!

    In Russia, Car Drives You

    (I'm sorry I couldn't resist) Hope all is well over there.

    To the OP, did you get some of the programs to be displayed in Russian after you changed international preferences?
     
  18. princealfie thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #18
    Haven't tried it yet but will do so whenever I get to my wireless airport. I will return and report :)
     
  19. princealfie thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #19
    Man, do they sell Macs in Saint Petersburg? I am happy. Are they pricey over there? :D
     
  20. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #20
    Hmm, I get more than just QuickTime Player!
     

    Attached Files:

  21. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #21
    Weird - I did it on two computers (10.3.9 and 10.4.8) and none shows the Finder in Russian, only QT player and iTunes...
     
  22. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #22
    Macs are about 50% more expensive in Russia compared to the US retail prices. Considering that there are no discounts for education and such, the difference is in effect even more egregious. So only a relatively small number of wealthy people can possibly afford a Mac over there.
     
  23. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #23
    Did you log out and back in?
     
  24. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #24
    Yup. Logged out and back in, no dice. I did not completely restart though - can not do it now, so the experiment would have to wait until tomorrow.
     
  25. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #25
    If the language your are interested in is not among the 12 or so languages in the default list, OSX does not support it fully. If you have to pick the language through that "Edit" list of hundreds of the other languages, you are out of luck. If the program you are using has a Russian version, the menu items will be presented in Russian. Otherwise, it goes down the list and use the first language that is supported, which in your case is probably English. As OSX itself does not fully support Russian, Finder and all the other utilities will end up with English menus. Quicktime, iTunes and a few other apps might be OK, but you are stuck with English for the most part.

    It is quite sad that Mac Genius guys were unaware of this, even though there is a clear statement on Apple's website about this issue. They kept telling me that they just did this with Spanish and they were baffled that it was not working with another language we picked. Once I got home, I came across Apple's webpage explaining it.
     

Share This Page