How Do You Copy Dvds

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by alexlai50, Apr 4, 2003.

  1. alexlai50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    #1
    YEA HOW DO YOU ACTUALLY COPY DVDS WITH A SUPERDRIVE
    Alex
     
  2. beez7777 macrumors 6502a

    beez7777

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Location:
    Notre Dame
    #2
    first let's establish the fact that you're backing up dvd's you already own.
     
  3. alexlai50 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
  4. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #4
    its still illegal to do so, whether it be ones you own or not. Thats how the DMCA is written. The only legal way to do it for a DVD you own would be to output the DVD and capture the signal, then rencode it all. anything that actually breaks the encryption is illegal.

    Interestingly there is a windows program that works in exactly this way. It captures the output and does not break the encryption at all. Last I heard its still available, so lawsuits haven't shut it down yet. But it is windows only.
     
  5. steeleclipse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
  6. steeleclipse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    i just got off the phone with 321studios (the maker of DVDXCOPY) and they said that they will be coming out with a Mac version in the future (hopefully near future)...

    I told him to keep in mind that macs are mostly shipping dvd burner equipped, so there is a definite interest in the dvdxcopy, plus mac users are more likely to purchase the software as opposed to pirating it... HE AGREED :D
     
  7. richlen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
  8. Fat Tony macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    #8
  9. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #9
    well you have one very big problem. dvds apple uses are dvd r 5's. rought 5gb. movies come on dvd r 9's, roughly 9gb. so unless you wanna have 2 dvd's for every one you burn thats what you are gonna have to do. you cannot buy dvdr9's, because they are manufactured with the movie last time i checked. by time you do all this and using 2 dvd's, might as well go to the store and buy it.

    iJon
     
  10. steeleclipse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    actually... if you have DVDXCOPY on a pc it compresses a dvd to 4.7 gb, and most people cannot tell the difference.

    blank dvds cost me 2 bucks a piece, and thats Canadian, so it is worth it :D
     
  11. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #11
    what about menus, special features and all that stuff, 5.1 surround sound? last time i checked
    321 studios its split the dvd's.

    iJon
     
  12. alexlai50 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    #12
    any way cheers eveyrone telll me when dvdcopy x is out plz
    cheers
    alex
     
  13. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #13
    Although it doesn't compress DVDs larger than 4.7GB, DVDBackup works great. Complete copy with menus and everything, and you can open the resulting VIDEO_TS folder with the Apple DVD Player.



    irmongoose
     
  14. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #14
    the thing is that barely any movies anymore come on a dvdr5, if any at all. but if the ones he wants to back up are dvdr5's then he is good to go.

    iJon
     
  15. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #15
    Yeah so what I did was bought a 120GB external drive... don't have to worry about disk space now! I just keep all the VIDEO_TS folders as is now. :D



    irmongoose
     
  16. CrackedButter macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #16
    What i would like to do is copy elements of a DVD onto VCD or Divx or something so that i don't need the disc when playing the movie.

    Of course i wouldn't want to pirate these files either.

    I have Futurama DVD's and would like the seperate episodes to view whenever i would like.

    Any help?
     
  17. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #17
    check out a program called forty-two. you can get it at versiontracker.com

    iJon
     
  18. buffsldr macrumors 6502a

    buffsldr

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    #18

    i have successfully copied a commercial dvd (minority report) using discomVOBulatorPlus1.0.2

    you go to the forty-two website and download the disco program. just follow the instructions. it is easier than i ever thought. the only problem i see is you use two discs ($6) and it takes your time and effort ($?), and some dvds are about $14. is it really worth the time, effort, money, and inconvience of putting a 7.2 gig movie on 2 discs? still, it is cool that it can be done
     
  19. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #19
    i know, exactly what i have been saying this thread. just not worth the time to me. i would rather have a pretty shiny disc and not a verbatim disc with sharpie saying disc 1 and 2, but thats just me.

    iJon
     

Share This Page