how do you display the date?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by twoodcc, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    was wondering how to have the date displayed on the menu bar? mine shows the day of the week, and the time, but not the month or date or anything

    thanks in advance
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    You can't do it through the OS X GUI. Why not is beyond me. I believe the only way to do it is to edit a plist somewhere, a terminal command, or a 3rd party program/hack.

    Edit: Well nevermind. That's my one wrong answer of the year. ;) Please don't refer to my other wrong answer posts.
     
  3. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #3
    Yes you can. It just takes a little digging. You do it through International Preferences.

    Here are the instructions that I found originally from macosxhints - I seem to remember having to fiddle around with different length formats to make it work though

    Picture 4.png
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
  5. PillarFan1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #5
    i just have the day and time in the menu, and a calendar widget that i look at real fast if i need the date
     
  6. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
  7. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #7
    I never realised you could do that – thanks for the link, you two.

    My Menu Bar is now all dated up. :)
     
  8. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #8
    i always used to go through dashboard which was so slow, so thanks for that
     
  9. Temujin macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #9
    Yeah, thanks for the links. You can even add characters and not just time and date items. Like -
     

    Attached Files:

    • -.jpg
      -.jpg
      File size:
      9.8 KB
      Views:
      279
  10. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #10
  11. haleyvan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #11
    none of these worked for me and i have been fooling arond with it for 2 days...is there some sort of trick??
     
  12. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #12
    Here's mine
     

    Attached Files:

  13. polevault139 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #13
    I've tried too and it hasn't worked. It shows the format I want in the International tab, but when I say OK nothing changes
     
  14. kakkoiimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Paradise
    #14
    Today 11:44 AM
    polevault139 I've tried too and it hasn't worked. It shows the format I want in the International tab, but when I say OK nothing changes

    i spent about 15 min playing with it and i found out that i could only display the custom time that was under the Long setting.

    maybe try messing around with that and see if it helps you...
     
  15. kakkoiimac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Location:
    Paradise
    #15
    couldnt quite get that quote thing on
     
  16. Grakkle macrumors 6502a

    Grakkle

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Earth
    #16
    That's strange - worked fine for me. Oh, thanks for the link spider and mitthraw- I've wanted to do that but hadn't figured out how till now.
     
  17. shov macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    #18
    After messing about with this for a while after all my menu bar bits disappeared, i found that it only works if you reset the region bit in the in formats in international preferences to UK (or whatever) from custom, before following the instructions.
     
  18. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #19
    it worked fine on my G5 and my ibook, but not on my mums G4
     

Share This Page