How do you do a print screen on a mac running Windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by adroit, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    adroit

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    #1
    Help :(
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #2
    F14 (it's exactly the same as the "Print Screen" key on PC keyboards).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    adroit

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    #3
    Where is the F14 :confused:

    I've tried hitting ctrl+F2 and alt+F2 but that didn't work.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #4
    Shift-:apple:-3 or Shift-:apple:-4.

    EDIT: Just realised you meant in Windows. Silly me :p
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    On external/full-size keyboards only I'm afraid.
     
  6. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #6
    You should be able to pull up an onscreen keyboard map in Windows somehow. Or download a third-party screen grab app. Or get an external keyboard with the full complement of keys.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #7
    You can use a third party app, or an on screen keyboard, or the "Snipping Tool" in Windows Vista, of course. But I just learned there's a registry hack for remapping keys on XP and Vista. With that, I remapped my right Apple key to Print Screen.

    It was pretty easy, and truly awesome because my USB keyboard has an option/alt key right next to the right Apple key, and taking screenshots in Windows Vista is now easier on my MacBook than on my PCs.

    (I posted this in an older thread before I found this one. Sorry about the double post.)
     
  8. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #8
    I use Input Remapper which will automatically map func+eject on MB/MBP, however I haven't tried since upgrading to bootcamp 1.1.2
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Diddily Daddily...
    #9
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #10
    Actually Vista includes a screen capture tool that can capture windows, rectangles, the whole screen, even a lasso. (Admittedly another example of Microsoft stealing markets from third-party developers.)

    But sometimes I do need the regular print screen key. (To capture the start menu, or in full screen games, for example.)

    Input Remapper seems interesting; does it work in games?

    I personally like the registry change best. It's more complicated, but it is part of the normal Windows keyboard driver so there are no additional processes running, no additional layers between my keyboard and my games, and no compatibility issues.
     
  11. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    #12
    does anyone know other tricks without 3rd party programs which does screengrabs? i have been using on-screen keyboard for printscreen, but it does seem a bit annoying having parts of the keyboard on my screen as well.

    thanks for the help
    jethro
     
  13. macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #13
    go buy another cheap keyboard.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    #14
    Print screen in windows in bootcamp - onscreen keyboard

    Print screen for the Mac in windows Via boot camp
    I was happy to find this solution..not convenient but it works.
    all programs>>Accessories >> accessibility >> onscreen keyboard
    click the ctrl and psc, then normal paste.

    oops guess i should have read the thread all the way through..this suggestion has already be offered.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    #15
    print screen on mac (running windows)

    keyboard combination: SHIFT + FN + F11
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #16
    this thread is like 3 years old....
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #17
    Thanks nunoro, this works
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #18
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #19
    Nunoro - you are the best - short and sweet and straight to the point!
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #20
    Just press control shift and f11, works like a charm for me, ive tried this on windows side on boot camp, not quiot sure on the os x side though lol
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    #21
    Amesome!

    I've used long time for finding this solution.
    Thank you so much rep. #15 :D
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    #22
    Print Screen

    Then why didn't they put PRINT SCREEN on the darned KEY!:cool:
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    #23
    Thanks Nunoro35,

    Thank you so much :)
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    #24
    Fantastic !! :):):)
    Short , sweet , and it works - wahooooo!!
     

Share This Page