How Do You Get The Folding @ Home Thing To Work!!!???

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by G5orbust, Jul 6, 2002.

  1. G5orbust macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I donwloaded the folding @ home thing (the grahpical interface one) and typed in the info (macrumors team #, username, etc.). But, how do i get it running. It starts up, but i cant seem to make it do anything. Can anyone give me step by step intructions please?
     
  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
  3. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #3
    WHAT IS THIS FOLDING @ HOME THING!!!???

    WHAT IS IT???

    I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF IT BEFORE!!

    IS THERE A WEBSITE I CAN GO TO, TO SEE EXACTLY WHAT IT IS???!!


    thanks :D :D :D
     
  4. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  5. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  6. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
  7. G5orbust thread starter macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #7
    i got it to work

    does it take a long time to finish??
     
  8. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Depends on which protein you're working on.

    If you have a proteinA variety it could take up to a week, especially if you're multi-tasking. Smaller proteins take anywhere from a half-day (on a fast machine) to 2 or 3.
     
  9. G5orbust thread starter macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #9
    hey, i wana have it work all the time, without me having to open it all the time. Is there any way i can do that? Is it safe to put it into the start up items folder of OSX?? Would the screen saver version work better is i want it to work like the way I do?
     
  10. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    It's completely safe to add to your Login Items, if you want it to launch when you startup your machine.

    Once it's running, just hide it and leave it alone.:)
     
  11. G5orbust thread starter macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
  12. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #12
    you missed this??

    I can't believe no one has mentioned this yet... The EASIEST way to do folding at home, is to first do some laundry... then fold up the clean clothes.. :D You can get tons of units done in a short amount of time. If you have protein stains on the clothes, you might need to run them through the wash again. :eek: :eek: :eek: :D
     
  13. G5orbust thread starter macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #13
    Re: you missed this??

    Your sooo damn funny alpha, it scares me.

    And may I ask why you have PROTIEN stains on your clothing?
     
  14. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #14
    Re: Re: you missed this??

    I don't have any such stains on my clothing... I was offering it up as advice for the true nerds... :eek: :eek: :eek: :D
     
  15. G5orbust thread starter macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #15
    I know you dont. They dont even exist. Just doing a little humor taht only the maker of the joke actually gets.
     

Share This Page