How do you have Lion installed?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by zeemeerman2, Mar 11, 2011.

?

Where did you install Lion?

  1. Internal HDD/SSD. By overwriting my previous OS (can be clean install or upgrade).

    40.7%
  2. Internal HDD/SSD. By making a new partition and installing it there.

    31.5%
  3. External HDD/SSD. Erased HDD and just installed it.

    16.7%
  4. External HDD/SSD. Repartitioned to not lose any data and installed on a new partition.

    7.4%
  5. USB-stick/SD-card/Other (I will reply what exactly).

    3.7%
  1. zeemeerman2
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #1
    Just curious.
    - Internal HDD/SSD. By overwriting my previous OS (can be clean install or upgrade). (e.g. Snow Leopard)
    - Internal HDD/SSD. By making a new partition and installing it there.
    - External HDD/SSD. Erased HDD and just installed it.
    - External HDD/SSD. Repartitioned to not lose any data and installed on a new partition.
    - USB-stick/SD-card.
     
  2. Hellhammer
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Partitioned my internal HD. No way I would have beta as my only OS and externals are slow, especially since I only have USB ones. To be honest, I haven't booted into SL after installing Lion.
     
  3. wrldwzrd89
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    I have FOUR externals connected to my Mac right now. 1 for SL Time Machine, 1 for Lion, 1 for Lion Time Machine, and 1 for shared storage.
     
  4. Tharian
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #4
    Nice thread! I have a partition on my internal and am using it every moment of the day.

    Lion rocks.

    -d
     
  5. Applepi
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Applepi

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #5
    Internal on the SSD. If it gets unbearable I can always go back to Snow Leopard, but so far though it's been great.
     
  6. celticpride678
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Partitioned 25 GB's of space to Lion and haven't touched Snow Leopard since.
     
  7. bedifferent, Mar 12, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2011

    bedifferent
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    bedifferent

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    Hmmm, seems I may have read it wrong, I mistook "partition" as meaning another partition on your main HDD/SSD and glanced over the "external" and "internal" points. Yeah, been a long day, and being blond ain't helping lol
     
  8. antmarobel
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    antmarobel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Brasília
    #8
    Completed erased the HDD and than installed it in a totally clean home :D
     
  9. HawaiiMacAddict
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #9
    I took a 1TB external (the small form factor model from WD), created two partitions on it, then installed Lion on one of the two partitions. It runs remarkably well, albeit just a tad slow in some aspects, but I have no major issues and it even goes to sleep! I was unable to install iStat Menus 2 (the last free version), some of the previously-installed apps from the Mac App Store (installed on my internal HDD), or use iProxy, but I really, really like Lion and can't wait for it to be released.

    I ran Geekbench and, while I didn't expect a great score, only scored 3661 on a late-2008 MacBook Pro (2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 6 GB RAM). I'll just put that down to Lion being installed on an external USB2 device.

    One thing I really liked was that when you download an app from the Mac App Store, instead of the app being installed in your dock, Launchpad is invoked and the app gets "installed" there.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. MacGeekJunior
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    #10
    External Installation

    How do install lion on a external?
     
  11. Hellhammer
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Create a HFS+ partition to it and then simply select it as the target of the install.
     
  12. HawaiiMacAddict
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #12
    yes, that's exactly what I did. I took an external 1TB WD small form factor drive (it houses a 2.5" HDD), created 200GB and 800GB partitions, then installed Lion on the smaller one. I still haven't begun to use the larger partition, however :D

    BTW, has anyone gotten iStat Menus 2.0 running on Lion? I can't seem to get it working correctly. It downloads the sensors, but when I click on any of them in the preference pane, I'm told that they can't be loaded.
     
  13. Mik3F
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
  14. Cynicalone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #14
    Just installed it on a spare 08 Macbook that wasn't being used daily.
     

Share This Page