How do you hide all applications?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iMatt mini, Aug 21, 2005.

  1. iMatt mini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #1
    Is there a way?
    Like say for example on my iBook, I want to leave it on, but I don't want people to see incoming IM's from iChat or whatever, is there a way to hide it?
    Note: I don't have the iBook yet, so don't assume I know anything. :p
     
  2. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
  3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #3
    Some ways:
    - Hold down option and command and click on the Finder icon in the Dock (or any application) that you don't mind anyone else seeing.
    - Or you can acheive the same by standing in Finder and choose Finder menu -> Hide others (cmd-option-H).
    - Or you can just hide your IM and Mail by command-tabbing to those apps and, without letting the command button up, hit H then tab again to another application you want to hide until those apps you want to hide are all gone.
    - etc.
     
  4. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #4
    To build upon this, is there anyway to hide all all running apps. Kinda like clicking every program and selecting Hide, not using Expose, where the apps are just wiped from the screen, then returned to their previous state? If so, that would be very, very helpful...
     
  5. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #5
    Does clicking the Finder button only show that?
    I don't just mean like if your boss walks in and you're looking at porn you need to hide it, I mean like walk away from the computer for a while and have it completely invisible.

    How do I lock the screen? :confused:
     
  6. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #6
    If security is what you're going for, locking your screen (with the screen saver) is probably the best way to do this. You can set up a hot corner to activate the screen saver. You can also add an icon to your menu bar that lets you lock the screen (just activates the screen saver). The menu bar option is in Preferences in Keychain Access. You check the box that says "Show status in menu bar" in the General tab of preferences. You'll also want to set the security preferences (in System Preferences) so that a password is required to exit the screensaver.

    If you just want to hide all applications without locking the screen, you can hold command and option while clicking on the desktop. Of course F11, which activates the Exposé show desktop command is also an option. They're slightly different in that Exposé is temporary--you can quickly restore the screen back to the way it was. The command-option click desktop thing really hides all applications, so you have to unhide them manually.
     
  7. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #7
    Yes! That's pretty much exactly what I am asking. :)
     
  8. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #8
    What if I were to just hit F12 and go to dashboard? Does that stop all IM's from coming up on top of it? Can you see through to RUNNING programs on the desktop?? or just the desktop?
     
  9. stevietheb macrumors 6502a

    stevietheb

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    Houston
    #9
    Does clicking on the desktop and then pressing cmd-opt-h not accomplish this?

    When I've got my laptop in a work environment...I lock the screen via Sys Prefs ("Require password to wake this computer..." in the Security pref pane)...as mentioned by others.
     
  10. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #10
    Yes, that does work. Thanks a ton...:D
     
  11. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #11
    What exactly does clicking the desktop and hitting ctrl-opt-h do? Does it just minimize them or hide them?
    I'll probably end up making it require a password on wake up. Did someone mention that you can have a button or a screen area to press and it will go to screensaver automatically?

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Look at the Dashboard & Exposé preference.pane: There you can set any corner to Start Screen Saver.
     
  13. stevietheb macrumors 6502a

    stevietheb

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    Houston
    #13
    I believe cmd-opt-h hides (hide...not minimize) all applications except the active one. So if you hit it while Finder is the active app, everything will hide except Finder (so if you've got finder windows open, this won't hide those...). Make sense?
     
  14. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #14
    The windows come back few seconds after you hit F11, at least for me :confused:

    Indeed, you can lock your screen setting hot corners or activating the menubar item from the keychain.app , that's if you accidentally goes to the corner, often.
     
  15. iMatt mini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #15
    Do you have to click the corner or just go there?
    I assumed you had to click it, but now I think I was mistaken.
     
  16. stevietheb macrumors 6502a

    stevietheb

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    Houston
    #16
    You just have to go to the corner.
     

Share This Page