how do you make a screenshot in OS X?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macEfan, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #1
    how do you make a screenshot in OS X?
    i forgot how..


    thanks!
     
  2. igucl macrumors 6502a

    igucl

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
  3. xyouxfailmiex macrumors member

    xyouxfailmiex

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    #3
    the apple key shift and 4
     
  4. macEfan thread starter macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
  5. igucl macrumors 6502a

    igucl

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    #5
    3 does the whole screen, and 4 does the selected area.
     
  6. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #6
  7. PCheese macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    #7
    ...and if you hold down control while doing any of these shortcuts, the screenshot will be placed in the clipboard instead of saving it to a file!
     
  8. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    !!!!!!!! Awesome! Thanks. I knew the 3 and 4 ones (been using for years), but this object one eliminates the need for snapz pro for me :p
     
  9. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #9
    Just wondering how do you do it on pc's. Lol I feel stupid on pc's sometimes.:p Mac's rule.
     
  10. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    For PCs I think you need to 'print screen' and then crop it as you choose. Nice and crap like all windows.. Or get a third-party app off google. Search "screenshot" or something.
     
  11. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #11
    IrfanView
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Not that I like defending Windows, but you have different options there to, like alt-printscreen, which will just "shoot" the active window. (But since all Windows users use full screen windows all the time the difference is purely academically... :p)
     

Share This Page