How do you rip aac from quicktime?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by vwcruisn, May 26, 2003.

  1. vwcruisn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Monica, Ca
    #1
    I have read that you can get a much better quality aac file if you rip directly from quicktime instead of itunes. Can someone explain how to do this?
     
  2. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #2
    I don't think thats true... itunes probably just calls quicktimes importing code, so i think they are the same
     
  3. jhershauer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    #3
    Re: Ripping from Quicktime Pro

    iTunes generates AAC files using the "Good" setting in QuickTime Pro, and doesn't have any options for using the "Better" or "Best" settings.

    I started to try using Quicktime Pro directly to rip my music, but it's a pain in the butt. I ended up downloading (and buying for $7.99) Make Mine MPEG4 at http://www.malcolmadams.com/itunes. It was totally worth it, as it provides a nearly seemless integration with iTunes once you get it set up.

    Note that before running it the first time, you still need to go into Quicktime Pro and rip one song. Choose the settings you want (I did 160 Kbps and "Best"), and after that, Make Mine MPEG4 will use those settings.

    Oh...and to answer your original question...check out the Make Mine MPEG-4 product page for instructions on how to manually import songs using Quicktime Pro.
     
  4. Vlade macrumors 6502a

    Vlade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Meadville, PA
    #4
    If you use QT you need to pay 20 bucks for QT Pro also.
     
  5. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #5
    use an app called AACelerator from versiontracker.
    it needs qt pro though
     

Share This Page