How do you see what hardware is installed in your computer?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Bowser, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. Bowser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    #1
    the equivalent of device manager in Windows. im on day 3 with my first mac.
     
  2. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #2
    apple system profiler

    in the utilities folder
     
  3. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    try system profiler in the utilities folder in you apps folder
     
  4. Krazykrl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    #4
    Shortcut...

    Go to the Apple Menu > About This Mac > Choose 'More Info'.
     
  5. Bowser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    #5
    so quick, thanks guys.

    one more thing. i bought a new iBook 12' which comes with a 40GB HD. well once i started it up, i only had 24GBs of free memory. now i know there is going to be some discrepency between what is advertised and how much memory is actually free (definition of what a GB is, OSX takes memory etc.). however, doesnt 16GBs missing seem much?

    edit: i wanted to look into system profiler to see exactly what HD is in my iBook (maybe they accidentally put a 30GB in mine), but i cant seem to find my HD in the profiler
     
  6. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #6
    it's a big OS

    try deleting some of the language files that you won't use
     
  7. Krazykrl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    #7
    The OS takes up space, the biggest culprit is the applications folder. I know Tiger installs nearly 2 Gigs of extra apps. Take a look and remove what you're sure you don't need. Ask if you're not sure.

    I have a 60GB drive and about 15GB is used by the OS and apps.
     
  8. Bowser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    #8
    yeah i did that, freed up nearly 2GB. but still, have you experienced this much memory taken up? i was expecting like 5ish, not 16. if this is the case, its fine. just wanted to make sure my iBook isnt faulty/missing something etc.
     
  9. Bowser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    #9
    i guess next purchase will have to be an external HD :)

    thanks for your help guys, damn quick :)
     
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    A 4 000 000 000 B disk is what HD manufacturers call a 40 GB disk, though your filesystem (and all known computers) calculate size in the binary system and 40 GB is then 1024 (2^10) * 1024 *1024. So a 40 GB disk really just contains about 37 GB, forget about formatting, that was an issue when disks was 40 MB, not anymore.

    Also if you have iLife '05 (with e.g. GarageBand) pre-installed, then I don't think 12 GB sounds much for Mac OS X, iLife and the rest of the bundled software/demos.

    Just delete what you don't need. And if you want to save even more space, reinstall OS X and remove those languages and printer drivers you don't need. Should save a couple of GB just there. ;)
     
  11. Bowser thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    #11
    yeah everyone says to just reinstall os x with the programs you want and dont want. i think ill be fine now, i still have a PC with around 40GBs free, that will have to serve as my waste basket/storage :)
     
  12. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #12
    GarageBand takes up a few gigs by itself, and space can go quick sometimes, my Applications folder alone takes up 5.3 gigs, and i dont have Garageband installed and i removed quite a few apps.....
     
  13. blufire macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    #13
    Getting info on the drive will show you the size of the drive next to "Capacity." In System Profiler, look under Hardware > ATA (if it's the internal ATA HD) and your drive will be there, listed by model number in the device tree. The capacity reported there will be the same as from Get Info though.
     

Share This Page