How do you set your computer name?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mainstreetmark, May 17, 2005.

  1. mainstreetmark macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #1
    In Prefs->Sharing, I have "mark" set as the computer name, which it has been for years.

    Since Tiger, though, the actual computer name seems to want to reflect various other net connections, such as how I'm connected to the net.

    [000-120-717:~] markyoun% hostname
    000-120-717.area2.spcsdns.net

    That used to say "mark.local", and I wish it still would be cause I have a lot of webprojects that specifically look for "mark.local" as the server and take various different actions based on that.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #2
    Go to System Preferences -> Sharing Under "Computer Name:", which you have set to 'mark', click on "Edit.." and change that you what you want it to be.
     
  3. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #3
    system prefs>sharing services Tab.
    Check Computer name at top and look at the small print under there.
    Hope this is helpful, good luck :)
     
  4. mainstreetmark thread starter macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #4
    It *is* "mark", and has been since Jaguar.

    Here's the fine print under that:

    here's the stuff at the very bottom:

    ..as opposed to "http://mark.local/"


    I think I'm just gonna see if I can set the hostname in the old fashioned way: 'hostname -s'
     
  5. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #5
    Have you tried turing the web sharing on/off?
     
  6. mainstreetmark thread starter macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #6
    Yeah, no effect.

    I did manage to get the terminal to say the hostname is mark.local, though, but I expect it to reset itself next time i re-connect to the internet.
     
  7. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Did you get the Terminal to list your hostname by putting commands in? You can use a file so that the command prompt always shows "mark.local". Don't remember the details though ... maybe someone can describe it better than I can ...
     

Share This Page