How do YOU shut your iPod Touch off?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Bowlerguy10, Dec 20, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    At my computer
    #1
    Do you use the single tap of the power button and boot to slider or do you actually hold the power button down and do the slide to power down method? How much battery power does keeping it in standby take and what is the advantage of shutting it down fully by use of the slider?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #2
    I just use single tap of the power button all the time. I can't remember the last time I actually powered down my touch. I recall reading on the forums here that there is no difference in power consimption, although I'm not 100% sure on this. I'd also be interested to hear other peoples view on this.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    ATL
    #3
    With the touch being solid state, there should be no (or at least miniscule) power drain in sleep mode.

    However, booting up from off (just based on how long it takes) seems like it would be drawing power.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Location:
    KC, MO
    #4
    i think it would be pretty darn hard to have much evidence of a difference between the two. the only time i power down completely is when my safari starts quitting on me and that seems to kick it back in to shape.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #5
    I throw mine against the wall & works everytime still, a real testament to just how durable these buggers are.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #6
    I just put mine to sleep unless I'm not going to be using it for a few days.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Draythor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    Exeter University, UK
    #7
    Don't you think that that's a bit to soft on it?
    I use a sledgehammer....
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #8
    With firmware 1.1.1 I always completely shut it down because it would drain the battery even faster sleeping than when playing a movie.:eek: Now with 1.1.2 I just put it to sleep as that problem has been fixed.:)
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #9
    i just got mine and i always just turn it all theway off with the sliding off... how do you put it into a sleep mode??? sorry for being a noob
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    At my computer
    #10
    Just hit the top power button for a second until the screen shuts off.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #11
    Both depending on mood :D
    I'm so impressed with that aspect of flash memory - really no loss of power when I shut down completely or sleep!
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    #12
    Weird - never have that problem and I still use 1.1.1 - jailbroken of course.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    Sleep it unless the WiFi is acting nuts then it gets powered down. But I always h see a huge loss of power when I power back up! :eek:
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #15
    i always just put it in sleep mode unless it starts crashing a lot then i'll restart it with the hold down sleep and home button method. it does use a little power when you're in sleep mode because it knows where you left off and it comes back to that screen from sleep mode. if i didn't use any power then it wouldn't know where you left off and it would always come back to the home screen from sleep mode. also it seems like powering all the way down uses a lot more power than just going into sleep mode
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #16
    Same case here
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    LeahM

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #17
    I've shut mine off once since I've had it. I usually just power save it, the little home button on the bottom. Either that or i'll let it die.
     

Share This Page