How do you stop your mac building up Rubbish ?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Fabrix2003, Mar 5, 2004.

1. Fabrix2003 macrumors regular

just wondered, when i was using my PC i was constantly deleting files cookies cleaning the exlporer history from the start menu etc,
    just wondering whats worth deleting weekly etc?
    i know that because its unix based and its clever operating system it doesnt need to be defragged which is nice but i still feel there are things i can do to improve performance in panther as i am a multimedia student and need all the performance i can get out of my powerbook G4 for college work

Any little secrets you know fellow mac users would be great!
    Thanks.

Fabrix. :)

2. encro macrumors 6502

encro

Just the usual suspects:

1. Fix Permissions in Disk Utility

type this in the terminal:
    Code:
    sudo periodic daily weekly monthly
    (you dont need to do this if you leave you Mac on 24hrs because it's done automatically between 3am and 5am).

3. Panther automatically defragments files under 20meg in size.

Cheers

3. encro macrumors 6502

encro

You could also delete your IE, Safari, Camino history & caches etc as well to free up filespace.

4. advres Guest

advres

Get MacJanitor - OSX is designed to do its own housecleaning at random times per day, week and month(Normally during the middle of the night). If your mac isn't turned on during these scheduled times it will not do it. MacJanitor really helps because you can force your system to do the maintenance at any time.

I also you Cocktail which is a nice utility for cleaning caches and and repairing permissions. Permissions are your main battle in this war. When anything seems screwy with the unix heart pumping in your book first things first - Repair those permissions.

5. dudeami macrumors regular

You can also run the maintenance scripts inivdiually, if you do not want to run all three every time. you can run these from the terminal

sudo sh /etc/daily