How do you take a screenshot?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Gloor, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #1
    I recently switched to mac and I was wondering how do you take a screenshot of your desktop. I can't seem to find it. Anyone pls?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #2
    Command-Shift-3. (Command is the one with the Apple logo on it).
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    Cmd - Shift - 3 = Fullscreen screenshot
    Cmd - Shift - 4 = You can select the area for the screenshot
    Cmd - Shift - 4 - Space = You can take a screenshot of a window
     
  4. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Command + shift + 3 takes a screen capture of the whole screen. Command + shift + 4 lets you select what area of the screen. Command + shift + 4 + space lets you just get a single window/Dock/Menu bar.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
  6. macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #6
    Wait, one more way and you may like it better because it has more options. It's called "Grab". It's in the utilities folder. I love it!

    Since you are new to Mac here's a cool tip. Open the Macintosh HD and drag the Applications folder to the Dock next to the trash. Right click or hold down on the mouse on the Applications folder and it will spring up with all your applications for quick access.
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    And one more yet... if you take a lot of screen grabs, consider Skitch. It's a very nice program that provides really simple (but elegant) captioning, circling, arrow-pointing options. It also manages a library of grabs that you take, and it webpost them with a couple of button clicks so that you can post them in forums or inline them in a web page. It's great.

    I occasionally still take opt-shift-3 screen grabs, because I want to capture something Skitch doesn't seem to handle correctly (like you can grab menu bars and things as full-screens with the keyboard, but you can't do it when you're using the mouse too, and so Skitch doesn't work well for that). I still just drag them into Skitch and delete the originals, though. :)

    I can invite you if you'd like...PM an e-mail address.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #8
    thanks for that!
     

Share This Page