Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LeeTom

macrumors 68000
May 31, 2004
You could use the TextEdit program, located in the Applications folder.

thedude110

macrumors 68020
Jun 13, 2005
Um ... I'm gonna assume you want to print to letterhead?

I usually do it "old school" -- I write the letter, print it to good ole' white paper, hold the letterhead behind it against the light and then figure out what I need to do to make it look ok on the letterhead. Couple of tries and it works ok.

I'm sure there are better ways, though -- I'm not very good with physical space.

But ... you might want to clarify your question. For all I know you're asking what the proper format is for a business letter?

MacBoobsPro

macrumors 603
Jan 10, 2006
Ok I saw that, but how do I enlarge the fonts so I can see what I'm writing? :)

The default font size in TextEdit is 12pt. Which is too large for a letter so infact you will need to reduce it to no less than 8pt. 9pt is standard. Once you reduce it you can then zoom in using the little tab thingy at the bottom that will say something like 50% or something. Set it to 150% or even 200% to zoom in.

Father Jack

macrumors 68020
Jan 1, 2007
Ireland
If you need something a little less basic, you will need to buy a word processing software program like Pages which is one of the two programs in iWork 06. There is of course Microsoft Word for Mac.

If cash is tight check out this site http://www.opensourcemac.org

There you will find a list of open scource software for Mac's including "Neo Office" and "Abi Word" which are free word processing software programs. :)

FJ

ready2switch

macrumors 6502
Apr 7, 2006