How does Bonjour Work?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DougJrS, Apr 17, 2006.

  1. DougJrS macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #1
    Does anyone know how devices using Bonjour "announce" themselves to the network? I am thinking that the Airport Express uses Bonjour to announce to other computers that it has speakers attached.

    Right now only computers connected wirelessly to my network can send music to the AE. The computers on the wired network can not see the AE. I was thinking that I needed to add some routes on my router to exchange traffic between the wired and wireless networks, but I an not sure if that will fix the problem.

    I have a cable modem connected to a router and the AE is connect to the router via a cat 5 cable and then my G5 is also conencted via cat5. The G5 does not see the AE speakers.


    Thanks,
    Doug
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    If the Airport Express is acting as a wireless router, and not simply a wireless access point for your current network, that means it's creating its own private network space and distributing IP addresses to things that connect to it wirelessly. Thus, only things that connect to it wirelessly would be able to see it. Since Bonjour is restricted to only one IP subnet, if the AE is creating its own IP subnet, nothing connected via wires to your original router would be able to see it. I believe that's most likely the essence of your problem.

    What you need to do is make sure the AE passes all incoming DHCP requests to your existing router, and isn't creating its own private IP subnet, but rather is simply a device on your existing IP network as defined by your router. Of course, you'll have to refer to your own documentation or whatnot to solve it, as I've never owned an AE myself.
     
  4. DougJrS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #4
    yea, that is what I thougt that problem was going to be. The AE only has the options to create a wireless network, or join a wireless network, so I am not sure what I am going to do.

    I can't believe that Apple does not have anything on this configuration. It seems like a really normal thing, but maybe not.

    Doug
     
  5. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #5
    Well, you would want to use the "join your existing network" option for the AE, and then your wired and wireless computers would both be able to use the speakers. It is a normal thing :).
     
  6. DougJrS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #6
    I will double check when I get home, but I think the option is to join an existing wireless network not just to join an existing network.

    Doug
     
  7. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #7
    It's the same thing. If your router is set up properly, your wired and wireless devices are on the same network.
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Otherwise, it doesn't work becuase iTunes was specifically BUILT to only see other iTunes (running) on the same subnet.

    Assuming what you're trying to do is share music from/to iTunes.
     
  9. DougJrS thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #9
    The only wireless that I have is created by the AE.
     

Share This Page