how does ibook do on video editing?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by lust4life, Jul 21, 2005.

1. lust4life macrumors newbie

hello! i am new to this forum and to macs. i am planning on purchasing a mac just for a change. i am a film student and i hope to get a notebook for class. i don't expect to do all my video editing on it (since school has the equipments), but i do expect to do a little editing myself for practice/fun/projects. i am currently on a budget. i would love to get a powerbook but it seems like an iBook is more affordable. i was thinking of getting a cheaper G5 desktop but i think a portable laptop would work better for me because i am also a psych double major and i bring my computer to class from time to time. is ibook capable for adequate video editing? it looks really nice. also, is 1.2/1.33 gHz fast? how fast is it comparing to p3 and p4? i am computer illiterate. i wanna learn more.

i am sorry if this question has been asked before. thanks!

2. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

macbaseball

It will be fine for video editing, but it also depends on what you expectations are. You definitely need to max out the RAM, with a thrid party 1 gig chip. The other thing is that the compression times will be slow. For me it wasn't an issue, as I just finished my video editing before bed, and then left it on overnight. This worked for me, but you may have higher expectatons, after editing on the school's machines. The iBook is a great buy - perhaps wait for a update, but if you need it now go for it.

3. Lacero macrumors 604

Lacero

You can edit DV projects fine on an iBook. I was editing video a long time ago on a PowerMac G4 400Mhz with 256MB RAM.