How does Migration Assistant Work For New Computers?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rekhyt, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Part of the old MR guard.
    #1
    I'm quite curious on how Migration Assistant works. Probably in a few more years when OS X 10.7 comes out, I will be purchasing another Mac and giving away my current MacBook Pro.

    I really want to keep all my current system config that I have tailored for quite a while and don't want to restart again on a clean installation.

    How does Migration Assistant work when restoring through Time Machine?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #2
    If you recover from time machine it will restore everything as of the last backup - that’s what time machine was designed for.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Part of the old MR guard.
    #3
    I don't think you get what I mean-I want to know how well Migration Assistant copes with restoring from Time Machine from a backup from an old computer to a new computer.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #4
    I've recently purchased a new iMac. Using Migration Assistant, I copied everything from my old to the new computer.

    Now, my new machine is exactly the same as the old one - settings for Airport, Internet, mail, iTunes, Accounts etc are all intact.
     
  5. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    I had a bunch of permissions problems (namely when I restored from the TM backup the new account had none) when I used Migration Assistant. If I did it again I would clone from a bootable backup.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #6
    Use Setup Asst. It's the thing that comes up automatically when you fire up a new Mac for the first time. It works like MA but better. For one thing, it doesn't require you to make a new account, it just transfers everything in one clean operation.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #7
    Hi guys,

    Just about to get rid of my Alu MacBook, and replacing it with a 2007 iMac- I am running Snow Leopard, whereas the iMac is arriving with Tiger on it. I have the Snow Leopard discs, so I will be upgrading straight away, but I also want to transfer all of my MacBook's data onto the iMac with the Time Machine Migration Assistant. Obviously Snow Leopard will have to be installed before I have the option to use Time Machine Migration Assistant, so in what order should I do everything?! Should I originally boot from the Snow Leopard disc so I get a clean install, and then do the Migration?

    Cheers in advance guys.
     

Share This Page