How does Windows 7 run under bootcamp on an 11.6 with 2GB?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by dokindo, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #1
    Trying to figure out what config 11.6 I should get. I'll be mostly running Office apps in Windows 7. The apple store guy says 2gb will be sufficient. He also said the base CPU is fine for my purpose.

    So the only upgrade I would go with is the SSD. Is that reasonable? I've read some conflicting posts - "windows is a memory hog" to "windows 7 runs fine on 1gb netbooks".
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #2
    If you're planning on running W7 32-bit you'll likely only get a 1gig Ram advantage running on 4Gig versus the 2 gig (the 4 gig will top out at 2.75 gig usable RAM, while the 2 gig will top out at 1.75)

    On W7 64-bit the 4 gig will have 3.75GB of RAM to play with versus 1.75Gig on the 2Gig machine

    In either case yes, I'd get the 128GB SDD.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #3
    Thanks - it looks like the 64bit is the way to go.

    Any suggestions on whether the ram or CPU upgrade would be helpful for my use?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #4
    What sort of partition size would be ideal for a win 7 64bit installation with a few base apps installed?

    Thanks
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    20 gigs is sufficient if all you're doing is installing MS office and a few other work tools.

    My Windows 7 Ultimate edition install took about 7 gigs. Office and a few other things will take another couple gigs at most.

    On the other hand, I also use my bootcamp partition for gaming, so after Trine, Tiger Woods 08, Left4Dead and a few others, I would have been out of space with 20 gigs so I went with 30 for bootcamp.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    nfl46

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #6
    Works great on my 13" Air! I am using parallels 6. Call of Duty is running great on windows 7.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7

    Really COD (which Version)
    is running your MBA with 2 GB Ram, 128GB SSD Windows 7 64-bit and there are no issues?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #8
    when booting into the OS, the ram usage for me is 1.01GB. With Starcraft 2 loaded and IE open, the ram usage is 1.25GB. I played a 1v1 game against the AI yesterday and the ram usage never went above 2GB.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    nfl46

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #9
    Yep! None. I've been playing it since morning. Black Opts! I have it on medium quality.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    YMark

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    Why would you want to pollute your Mac by putting that wart called Windows on it, just so you can run office? Wouldn't it be better just to run the Mac version of Office, especially since they just released Office 2011.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    nfl46

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #11
    Lol! Yeah, I would only use it to play video games. Most graphic intensive games aren't available on Mac yet.
     
  12. macrumors member

    supermariofan25

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #12
    Mac book air

    Yeah I'm hoping to get a MacBook air with 2 gb of ram and windows 7 on it so I can play halo custom edition, dose any one have any experience as to how it runs?:confused:
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #13
    What kind of fps are you getting?
     

Share This Page