How I Connect Macbook Pro to TV?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by evansls, Nov 4, 2006.

  1. evansls macrumors regular

    evansls

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA
    #1
    Now that the slingplayer for the mac is available for those who have a slingbox, I want to hook my macbook pro up to my hotel TV using A/V cables so I can watch it on a bigger screen from a distance.

    I thought the "ipod AV cables" from Apple would do the trick, but I'm not seeing anything appear when I test this on my TV at home first.

    I have the A/V cables plugged into >0< looking symbol next to headphone jack on the macbook pro and the composite cables plugged correctly in the TV. Then I switch the TV to the proper AV input and click "detect displays" under the apple monitor preferences, but nothing happens... Am I missing some steps or do these cables not work on this computer?

    Thanks for your help in advance!

    Evan
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    You're connecting those cables to your MacBook Pro's audio line-in port.

    Those cables won't work with your machine. You'll need the DVI-to-Video adapter.

    Edit: MacBook Pro's ports and connectors: Core Duo, Core 2 Duo
     
  3. evansls thread starter macrumors regular

    evansls

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA
    #3
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    Nope...the audio line-in port with that symbol has been on the PowerBook/MacBook Pro line for at least four years. It didn't always have the optical input function, but the analog version of it has been around for a long time! :D
     
  5. fistful macrumors 6502a

    fistful

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Socan
    #5
    The dvi to s-video/composite adapter does not however solve the issue of audio. You should be able to use your ipod AV cables through the headphone jack on your MBP to achieve this. That is of course if you're fine with the audio coming from your MBP.
     
  6. evansls thread starter macrumors regular

    evansls

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA
    #6
    Would a DVI to HDMI cable work to my HD TV from my macbook pro? I understand HDMI is digital audio and video, so I would still need the analog audio from the headphone jack to my HD TV to hear anything... I don't have one of these cables to try, obviously, but I wondered if that would work for better picture quality since my TV doesn't have DVI inputs only HDMI inputs.

    I will definitely have to get the DVI to Video Adaptor for when I'm on the road.
     
  7. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #7
    That is the best option, you don't need an expensive cable or anything, a $10 one from eBay will be just fine. For the audio you just need a 3.5mm to Stereo RCA cable. Or if you have a Receiver, then a 3.5mm TOSLINK to standard TOSLINK cable for digital audio
     
  8. fistful macrumors 6502a

    fistful

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Socan
    #8
    Isn't that basically what the iPod AV cables are? The only exception being that they also have video for use with the iPod. I see no reason why audio will not work through these cables, it wouldn't hurt to try and save yourself from having to buy additional cables.
     
  9. evansls thread starter macrumors regular

    evansls

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    Leesburg, VA
    #9
    i was just wondering, an addition to, if it was possible to connect the macbook pro to the tv using a dvi to hdmi cable knowing full well that dvi does not output audio. so, you're right, i would use the analog audio cable to save some cash.
     
  10. frankrap macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #10
    How About Wireless??

    I Was Wondering If There Is Anyway To Do This Wireless. I Do Web Design And I Would Love To Be Able To Sit My Chair At Home And Hook My Pro To The Lcd Without The Wires. I Mean If They Can Make A Wireless Mouse Work With A Little Usb Nub, Why Cant Someone Make A Similar Device For Tv Apps....or Even Blue Tooth. Come On Tech Guys!!!!
     
  11. Sirus2400 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #11
    You can if you have a PS3:D

    And MediaLink
     
  12. alexmd88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #12
    really?


    How do you connect the PS3 to the mac. or anything to ps3 for that matter?

    could you put me in the right direction please.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page