How Important is Video Ram?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by GadgetGirl, Oct 25, 2004.

1. GadgetGirl macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I want to switch from a PC to a Mac so I can use Final Cut Express for video editing. I'm not a professional but would like a system that I can grow into as my talent grows as well as a system that won't be out dated in 2-3 years. I would prefer to be portable and am looking at the 14 inch ibook or a 12 inch powerbook.......price is an issue. I don't really want to go over $1700 and definitely not over $2000. I would also consider the new iMac because it's a G5 and push come to shove, I could take it somewhere if I just had to be portable with it. :eek:

I just don't quite understand how important video ram is in a Mac. I'm surprised that the iBook only has 32mb. I know the Powerbooks (and iMacs) have 64mb but does it really make a huge difference in performance and if so, is it tolerable? If I were building another PC, I'd have nothing less than 128mb of video ram. All guidance is welcomed, particularly if you're a video/film editor.
    Thanks!

GadgetGirl

2. Palad1 macrumors 6502a

Palad1

VRAM: only useful for realtime 3D

Hello Gadget!

VRAM is mainly used by 3D applications for Textures, Vertices, transformations and so on.

2D uses a very marginal amount of VRAM. Your average screen takes roughly 2 Mb of VRAM (1024x780x24bpp =2340 kB), so that's why you see video cards with such a "small" amount of VRAM as 32 Mb (or 14 screens :D) in the iBook line which doesn't have any 3D pretentions.

When doing Video editing, most operations are done in the CPU itself, not the GPU (graphics processing unit).

Thus your main concerns are:

1. Having a fast processor (G4+Altivec is good)
    2. Having LOTS of RAM so the CPU can keep on computing without having to wait for some data being swapped out
    3. Having a wicked fast hard drive (firewire 800 is double plus good, 5400 rpm is the minimum)