How is your BitTorrent Set up, and how do you use it?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by RyanTaylor, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #1
    This is basically what the title says... How is your BitTorrent set up, and how do you use it.

    For Example I am using a version of Transmission I modified, which has no dock icon and is accessed using the web interface through Dashboard, and via my iPod Touch!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
    We do, we're just not as psychotic about it.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    xboxer75010

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Carrollton, TX
    #3
    I just use Utorrent, it fits my needs.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    off world.
    #4
    So does that iPhone Torrent track your progress on your desktop, then? That's awesome. If there's a way to bundle that and pass it along, I'd love a chance to try it. :)

    I use Transmission. And while I can't say I've never downloaded music, I will say I'm very picky nowadays about what I grab. I can justify downloading an album to give it a try, and then if I like it I go buy it and if I don't I delete it. Not really that different from using (free) Rhapsody to sample whole albums prior to purchase / not purchase, ya know?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Martin C

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    I use Transmission as well. It fits my needs.

    This is the connection I use to download like crazy:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    ecstasy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #6
    ^ Holy crap, 103 Mb/s?

    I share my cousin's Verizon FiOS connection and this is all I have:

    [​IMG]

    :(
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Heilage

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #7
    uTorrent with enabled WebUI on a 3,7TB server standing in a separate room.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #8
    *cries* Well, I not so happily BT off a 30 gig 1500kbps connection. Using Vuze, and WebUI occasionally to monitor. Speed Scheduler to limit upload speeds during waking hours.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #9
    I use Transmission. But it's ok, cuz I have this connection:
    [​IMG]

    I can usually get about 1.4m down if i have enough seeds
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    nobunaga209

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #10
    HOLY Sweet Jesus Davilla Miguel Estrada!! That's is some mighty fine speed ya got there...I'm jelly...blank ATT in their blankity blanks for my measly 5.67 down and .68 up!!
    :p
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    ecstasy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #11
    Still better than my measly 8MB download rate!

    How does Martin C get such good speeds?


    Optimum Online > all?


    :confused:
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    ecstasy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #12
    Anybody?

    :D
     
  13. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #13
  14. macrumors 6502

    ecstasy

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #14
    I noticed they said 12GB of hosted space on the site you provided.

    Does this mean that you can't download from torrents?

    I've heard a lot of stories in which people have gotten notices and warnings from their internet providers for downloading illegally (torrents, etc.)

    Have you heard anything about that?
     

Share This Page