how long does aperture take to "process previews?"

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by plunar, Jan 10, 2007.

  1. plunar macrumors 6502

    plunar

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    #1
    everytime i try to quit aperture it says it's "processing previews" and ask if i want to quite or continue. as far as i can tell, it ALWAYS processing previews, and i believe this is indicated by a spinning progress circle on the left of the control bar.

    I've sat here and literally let run on end and it seems to never finishing processing previews. what gives?
     
  2. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #2
    This happens whenever you load in new photos. (I actually don't like this feature).

    If it's the first time that you have uploaded a bunch of photos, or just upgraded to the version of Aperture that supports this -- you should just leave the machine on overnight (with the screen off) to let it run it's course. :eek:
     
  3. atari1356 macrumors 68000

    atari1356

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #3
    Also, the time it takes is very much dependent on the computer you're using (it's much quicker with multiple processors).

    I tried importing somewhere around 175 photos into the Aperture demo on my 1.5GHz G4 PowerBook and it took over an hour to process. Doing the same exact thing on a 2.66GHz Quad Mac Pro at my job took 10-15 minutes.
     
  4. snap58 macrumors 6502

    snap58

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    somewhere in kansas
    #4
    You can turn this off, someplace in preferences there is a check box. I think the previews are used for sharing with other programs like iPhoto. A few hundred RAW files will bring any machine to it's knees for an extended time so if don't need to share with other programs just turn it off.
     
  5. itsallinurhead macrumors 6502

    itsallinurhead

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    Are there any mal effects by turning these off? Takes forever.
     
  6. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #6
    Nope, but iLife, iWork, iPhone, and other things on the computer won't have previews.

    It's really only a hassle the first time you load up your library, or when you upload a ton of new images. If you are on a laptop, it might be a bit longer.
     
  7. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #7
    Even if you turn off the automatic preview creation, you can still have previews. Just right-click on the library and select "update previews" whenever you don't mind leaving your computer for a bit.
     

Share This Page