How Long will they make the PowerMac G4?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by ----Bowie----, Mar 29, 2004.

1. ----Bowie---- macrumors regular

How long do you think Apple will keep selling the PowerMac G4? I'm new to Apple and I don't know how long they keep the old models when they bring out new hardware.

2. RBMaraman macrumors 65816

RBMaraman

You know, I've wondered the same thing.

When the G4 LCD iMac came out, they still sold the G3 CRT iMac. The G3 iMac died about 1.5 years after the G4 iMac came out. So, if Apple uses the same time frame for the PowerMac G4, then it'll be dead this December (exactly 1.5 years since the PowerMac G5 came out). I really think that the PowerMac G4 will be around for another year or so.

3. lucasraggers macrumors newbie

They will keep using them untill the G6 arrives. When the G5 came out, the G3 still was in the iBook!

4. aswitcher macrumors 603

aswitcher

I think Apple are keen to be free of Motorola. Not sure what contractual obligations maybe on them though so that may dictate things because Apple doesn't need anyone else suing them just now.

I too think this is the last year of the G4PM.
    2005 will hopefully be the last year of the G4PB

5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

Sun Baked

The PowerMac G4 is probably on it's way out, Apple removing OS 9 bootability from the eMac shows Apple is pushing very hard to get rid of it.

Probably won't last through the summer, and will probably be removed after Apple finishes filling the school orders.

6. lucasraggers macrumors newbie

Oh no! It will stay at least for a year in the iBooks.

7. blue&whiteman macrumors 65816

blue&whiteman