How long would an iBook G4 last me?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by blink56k, Apr 25, 2006.

1. blink56k macrumors member

blink56k

Hey all. I'm a college student currently saving up for a new ibook (or alternatively, macbook) to get rid of this thinkpad (which actually has served me well as a pretty decent computer).

I know the consensus among many of you is just to get the ants out of my pants and wait for the intel iBook/Macbook but I was still curious as to how long an iBook G4 would serve me if I were to get one now/in the near future. Would it be able to run Leopard when it comes out? My current computing needs don't go beyond basic wordprocessing, web surfing, etc. (possibly some very minor movie editing later on).

The reason why I'm even considering an iBook G4 (though not disqualifying a Macbook purchase) are for the following reasons:

1. I need (well not so much need since I already have this thinkpad) this computer by August of this year, right before I start school. If the Macbooks come out by then, they might still be in early revision stages (and after going through these forums, I've become paranoid of anything less than rev B or even C haha)
    2. The very slight chance the Macbook won't fit my budget (which is about $1000 for a base system, not counting the extra upgrades I may plan to add on)
    3. PowerPC nostalgia

Not to answer my own question but maybe this decision really depends on how the Macbooks turn out.

But if I were to get the G4 iBook, how long do you guys think it will be sufficient/satisfactory for my needs?

Thanks

2. thehype31 macrumors member